Whirligig, Paul Fleischman
  • List: $14.95  |  Sale: $10.47
    Club: $7.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Whirligig

Author: Paul Fleischman

Narrator: Robert Field; Lily Christian; various readers

Unabridged: 3 hr 35 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 04/30/2010

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Death & Dying

Ages: 12 - 12

Synopsis

New to town, Brent Bishop longs to stroll around school with the popular Brianna on his arm. But when Brianna begs him at a party full of schoolmates to stop hounding her, Brent's hopes are shattered. Trying to escape his humiliation, he attempts to destroy himself in a car crash-and ends up killing Lea, an innocent teen unfortunate enough to cross his path. Lea's mother asks one thing of Brent: that he create four whirligigs from a picture of Lea and set them up at the four corners of the United States. Lea's mother believes that by spreading the joy that whirligigs gave Lea as a child, Brent will keep Lea's spirit alive. And so Brent goes off with an unlimited bus ticket and the tools he needs to memorialize Lea. On his journey, he rediscovers his own love of life, and he begins to realize how-like the pieces that form the intricate whirligigs-people come together to affect each other in surprising ways. A 1998 New York Times Notable Book for Children.

Recommended

Everlost, Neal Shusterman
Everlost
by Neal Shusterman

Nick and Allie don’t survive the car accident…but their souls don’t exactly get where they’re supposed to go either. Instead, they’re caught halfway between life and death, in a sort of limbo known as Everlost: a shadow...

Narrator: Nick Podehl
Published: 01/20/2009

The Truth About Forever, Sarah Dessen
The Truth About Forever
by Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen is a New York Times best-selling author whose books have been named Best Books for Young Adults by the American Library Association on five occasions. In The Truth About Forever, Dessen depicts a young woman coming to terms with the tra...

Narrator: Stina Nielsen
Published: 05/04/2005

The Thing About Jellyfish, Ali Benjamin
The Thing About Jellyfish
by Ali Benjamin

This stunning debut novel about grief and wonder was an instant New York Times bestseller and captured widespread critical acclaim, including selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist! After her best friend dies in a drowning accident, Suz...

Narrator: Sarah Franco
Published: 09/22/2015

Eggs, Jerry Spinelli
Eggs
by Jerry Spinelli

EGGS is a quirky and moving audiobook about two very complicated, damaged children. David has recently lost his mother to a freak accident, his salesman father is constantly on the road, and he is letting his anger out on his grandmother. Primrose ...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 06/01/2007

Missing May, Cynthia Rylant
Missing May
by Cynthia Rylant

Since summer was six years old she lived with dear Aunt May and Uncle Ob. Now, six years later, Aunt May has died. Summer, who misses May with all her might, is afraid something will happen to Ob. Most days Ob seems like he doesn't want to go on.But...

Narrator: Frances McDormand
Published: 04/08/2008

On My Honor, Marion Dane Bauer
On My Honor
by Marion Dane Bauer

The sun beats down on 7th-graders Joel and his best friend as they pedal up and down the hills outside of town. Before leaving home, Joel had solemnly promised his father-on his honor-they would only go to the state park. He didn't explain they were...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 10/08/2001

The Boy in the Black Suit, Jason Reynolds
The Boy in the Black Suit
by Jason Reynolds

Just when seventeen-year-old Matt thinks he cant handle one more piece of terrible news, he meets a girl whos dealt with a lot moreand who just might be able to clue him in on how to rise up when life keeps knocking him downin this wry, gritty novel...

Narrator: Corey Allen
Published: 01/06/2015

The Afterlife, Gary Soto
The Afterlife
by Gary Soto

Adept at portraying Latino teenage culture, author Gary Soto has won many honors, including an ALA Best Book Award for his young adult novels. After an East Fresno student is murdered, his mind leaves his body. Now he must get used to being an invis...

Narrator: Robert Ramirez
Published: 05/09/2013

The Seventh Most Important Thing, Shelley Pearsall
The Seventh Most Important Thing
by Shelley Pearsall

This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker...

Narrator: Nick Podehl
Published: 09/08/2015
{"id":"1564745","ean":"9781609986902","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Whirligig","subtitle":"","author":"Paul Fleischman","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Robert Field; Lily Christian; various readers","ubr_id":"1564745","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.72","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert Field; Lily Christian; various readers","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 3 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}