Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World, Olga Khazan
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World

Author: Olga Khazan

Narrator: Renata Friedman

Unabridged: 8 hr 15 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 04/07/2020

Genre: Psychology - Personality

Synopsis

In the tradition of Susan Cain's Quiet and Scott Stossel's My Age of Anxiety, Atlantic staff writer Olga Khazan reclaims the concept of "weird" and turns it into a badge of honor rather than a slur, showing how being different -- culturally, socially, physically, or mentally -- can actually be a person's greatest strength.Most of us have at some point in our lives felt like an outsider, sometimes considering ourselves "too weird" to fit in. Growing up as a Russian immigrant in West Texas, Olga Khazan always felt there was something different about her. This feeling has permeated her life, and as she embarked on a science writing career, she realized there were psychological connections between this feeling of being an outsider and both her struggles and successes later in life. She decided to reach out to other people who were unique in their environments to see if they had experienced similar feelings of alienation, and if so, to learn how they overcame them. Weird is based on in-person interviews with many of these individuals, such as a woman who is professionally surrounded by men, a liberal in a conservative area, and a Muslim in a predominantly Christian town. In addition, it provides actionable insights based on interviews with dozens of experts and a review of hundreds of scientific studies.Weird explores why it is that we crave conformity, how that affects people who are different, and what they can do about it. First, the book dives into the history of social norms and why some people hew to them more strictly than others. Next, Khazan explores the causes behind-and the consequences of-social rejection. She then reveals the hidden upsides to being "weird," as well as the strategies that people who are different might use in order to achieve success in a society that values normalcy. Finally, the book follows the trajectories of unique individuals who either decided to be among others just like them; to stay weird; or to dwell somewhere in between.Combining Khazan's own story with those of others and with fascinating takeaways from cutting-edge psychology research, Weird reveals how successful individuals learned to embrace their weirdness, using it to their advantage.

Recommended

Quiet The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking, Susan Cain
Quiet
by Susan Cain

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Published: 01/24/2012

Psych 101 Psychology Facts, Basics, Statistics, Tests, and More!, Paul Kleinman
Psych 101
by Paul Kleinman

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Fred Sanders
Published: 07/18/2017

The Narcissist Next Door Understanding the Monster in Your Family, in Your Office, in Your Bed-in Your World, Jeffrey Kluger
The Narcissist Next Door
by Jeffrey Kluger

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Jeffrey Kluger
Published: 09/09/2014

Self Mastery Through Conscious Autosuggestion, Emile Coue
Self Mastery Through Conscious Autosu...
by Emile Coue

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Mitch Horowitz
Published: 05/01/2014

Personality Types Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery, Don Richard Riso
Personality Types
by Don Richard Riso

List: $23.49

Sale: $16.45

Club: $11.74

Narrator: James Anderson Foster
Published: 12/14/2017

The Four Tendencies The Indispensable Personality Profiles That Reveal How to Make Your Life Better (and Other People's Lives Better, Too), Gretchen Rubin
The Four Tendencies
by Gretchen Rubin

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Gretchen Rubin
Published: 09/12/2017

Disarming the Narcissist Surviving & Thriving with the Self-Absorbed, LCSW Behary
Disarming the Narcissist
by LCSW Behary

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Jo Anna Perrin
Published: 12/05/2011

Enneagram: Become Who You Really Are with the Sacred Road of the 9 Personality Types. Master Personal Growth, Emotional Healing & Self-Discovery - All You Need to Go Back to Being Yourself in 2019, John Heffner
Enneagram: Become Who You Really Are ...
by John Heffner

List: $14.95

Sale: $10.47

Club: $7.47

Narrator: Mike Eberhardt
Published: 11/07/2019

Who Are You, Really? The Surprising Puzzle of Personality, Brian R. Little
Who Are You, Really?
by Brian R. Little

List: $11.99

Sale: $8.40

Club: $5.99

Narrator: Brian R. Little
Published: 08/15/2017
{"id":"3959755","ean":"9781549115127","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World","subtitle":"The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World","author":"Olga Khazan","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Renata Friedman","ubr_id":"3959755","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Renata Friedman","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}