Up From Freedom, Wayne Grady
  • List: $16.95  |  Sale: $11.87
    Club: $8.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Up From Freedom

Author: Wayne Grady

Narrator: Matt Godfrey

Unabridged: 11 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 08/14/2018

Genre: Fiction - African American - Historical

Synopsis

For readers of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi and Lawrence Hill, Up From Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development.

As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would never be like his father, he would never own slaves. When he moves from his father's plantation in Savannah to New Orleans, he takes with him Annie, a tiny woman with sharp eyes and a sharper tongue, who he is sure would not survive life on the plantation. She'll be much safer with him, away from his father's cruelty. And when he discovers Annie's pregnancy, already a few months along, he is all the more certain that he made the right decision.

As the years pass, the divide between Moody's assumptions and Annie's reality widens ever further. Moody even comes to think of Annie as his wife and Lucas as their son. Of course, they are not. As Annie reminds him, in moments of anger, she and Moody will never be equal. She and her son are enslaved. When their "family" breaks apart in the most brutal and tragic way, and Lucas flees the only life he's ever known, Moody must ask himself whether he has become the man he never wanted to be--but is he willing to hear the answer?

Stretching from the war-torn banks of the Rio Brazos in Texas to the muddy waters of Freedom, Indiana, Moody travels through a country on the brink of civil war, relentlessly searching for Lucas and slowly reconciling his past sins with his hopes for the future. When he meets Tamsey, a former slave, and her family trying to escape the reach of the Fugitive Slave Act, Moody sees an opportunity for redemption. But the world is on the cusp of momentous change, and though some things may be forgotten, nothing is ever really forgiven.

Recommended

The Water Dancer A Novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates
The Water Dancer
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 09/24/2019

The House of Erzulie, Kirsten Imani Kasai
The House of Erzulie
by Kirsten Imani Kasai

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Published: 02/26/2019

Homegoing, Yaa Gyasi
Homegoing
by Yaa Gyasi

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Published: 06/07/2016

The Gilded Years, Karin Tanabe
The Gilded Years
by Karin Tanabe

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Janina Edwards
Published: 06/07/2016

Washington Black, Esi Edugyan
Washington Black
by Esi Edugyan

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 09/18/2018

Mustard Seed, Laila Ibrahim
Mustard Seed
by Laila Ibrahim

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 11/07/2017

Darkest Child, The (new recording), Delores Phillips
Darkest Child, The (new recording)
by Delores Phillips

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 01/30/2018

The Orphan Mother, Robert Hicks
The Orphan Mother
by Robert Hicks

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Published: 09/13/2016

Wench, Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Wench
by Dolen Perkins-Valdez

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Quincy Tyler Bernstine
Published: 03/30/2010
{"id":"3358295","ean":"9780385693004","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Up From Freedom","subtitle":"","author":"Wayne Grady","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Matt Godfrey","ubr_id":"3358295","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"16.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.02","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Matt Godfrey","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}