The Sky at Our Feet, Nadia Hashimi
  • List: $20.99  |  Sale: $14.70
    Club: $10.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Sky at Our Feet

Author: Nadia Hashimi

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne

Unabridged: 6 hr 51 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 03/06/2018

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Emigration & Immigration

Ages: 12 - 13

Synopsis

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Recommended

The Turtle of Oman, Naomi Shihab Nye
The Turtle of Oman
by Naomi Shihab Nye

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Peter Ganim
Published: 08/26/2014

Return to Sender, Julia Alvarez
Return to Sender
by Julia Alvarez

List: $20.00

On Sale: $4.99

Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez
Published: 09/14/2010

Maggie's Door, Patricia Reilly Giff
Maggie's Door
by Patricia Reilly Giff

List: $8.95

Sale: $6.27

Club: $4.47

Narrator: Fionnula Flanagan
Published: 09/09/2003

The Face on the Milk Carton, Caroline B. Cooney
The Face on the Milk Carton
by Caroline B. Cooney

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Alyssa Bresnahan
Published: 01/11/2000

The Land of Forgotten Girls, Erin Entrada Kelly
The Land of Forgotten Girls
by Erin Entrada Kelly

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Lulu Lam
Published: 03/01/2016

A House Without Windows, Nadia Hashimi
A House Without Windows
by Nadia Hashimi

List: $28.99

Sale: $20.29

Club: $14.49

Narrator: Susan Nezami
Published: 08/16/2016

The Only Road, Alexandra Diaz
The Only Road
by Alexandra Diaz

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Ramon De Ocampo
Published: 11/12/2019

The Night Diary, Veera Hiranandani
The Night Diary
by Veera Hiranandani

List: $18.00

Sale: $12.60

Club: $9.00

Narrator: Priya Ayyar
Published: 03/06/2018

Front Desk, Kelly Yang
Front Desk
by Kelly Yang

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Sunny Lu
Published: 11/06/2018
{"id":"2064879","ean":"9780062821065","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Sky at Our Feet","subtitle":"","author":"Nadia Hashimi","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Kirby Heyborne","ubr_id":"2064879","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kirby Heyborne","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}