The Silk Roads: A New History of the World A New History of the World, Peter Frankopan
  • List: $34.99  |  Sale: $24.50
    Club: $17.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Silk Roads: A New History of the World

Author: Peter Frankopan

Narrator: Laurence Kennedy

Unabridged: 24 hr 13 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Highbridge Audio

Published: 02/16/2016

Genre: History - World

Synopsis

It was on the Silk Roads that East and West first encountered each other through trade and conquest, leading to the spread of ideas, cultures, and religions. From the rise and fall of empires to the spread of Buddhism and the advent of Christianity and Islam, right up to the great wars of the twentieth century, this book shows how the fate of the West has always been inextricably linked to the East.

Recommended

Factfulness Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the Worldand Why Things Are Better Than You Think, Hans Rosling
Factfulness
by Hans Rosling

For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carryi...

Narrator: Richard Harries
Published: 04/03/2018

Origin Story A Big History of Everything, David Christian
Origin Story
by David Christian

A captivating history of the universe -- from before the dawn of time through the far reaches of the distant future. Most historians study the smallest slivers of time, emphasizing specific dates, individuals, and documents. But what would it look l...

Narrator: Jamie Jackson
Published: 05/22/2018

A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
A Short History of Nearly Everything
by Bill Bryson

One of the world’s most beloved and bestselling writers takes his ultimate journey -- into the most intriguing and intractable questions that science seeks to answer.In A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson trekked the Appalachian Trail -- well, mo...

Narrator: Richard Matthews,Bill Bryson
Published: 05/06/2003

A History of the World in 6 Glasses, Tom Standage
A History of the World in 6 Glasses
by Tom Standage

Throughout human history, certain drinks have done much more than just quench thirst. As Tom Standage relates with authority and charm, six of them have had a surprisingly pervasive influence on the course of history, becoming the defining drink dur...

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 03/25/2011

The Six Wives of Henry VIII, Alison Weir
The Six Wives of Henry VIII
by Alison Weir

This acclaimed best-seller from popular historian Alison Weir is a fascinating look at the Tudor family dynasty and its most infamous ruler. The Six Wives of Henry VIII brings to life England’s oft-married monarch and the six wildly differen...

Narrator: Simon Prebble Prebble
Published: 02/24/2003

The Geography of Genius A Search for the World's Most Creative Places from Ancient Athens to Silicon Valley, Eric Weiner
The Geography of Genius
by Eric Weiner

Travel the world with Eric Weiner, the New York Times bestselling author of The Geography of Bliss, as he journeys from Athens to Silicon Valley—and throughout history, too—to show how creative genius flourishes in specific places at spe...

Narrator: Eric Weiner
Published: 01/05/2016

A People's History of the World: From the Stone Age to the New Millennium, Chris Harman
A People's History of the World: From the Stone Age to the New Millennium
by Chris Harman

Chris Harman describes the shape and course of human history as a narrative of ordinary people forming and re-forming complex societies in pursuit of common human goals. Interacting with the forces of technological change as well as the impact of po...

Narrator: Napoleon Ryan
Published: 08/29/2017

Upheaval Turning Points for Nations in Crisis, Jared Diamond
Upheaval
by Jared Diamond

A brilliant new theory of how and why some nations recover from trauma and others don't, by the author of the landmark bestsellers Guns, Germs, and Steel and Collapse. In his earlier bestsellers Guns, Germs and Steel and Collapse, Jared Diamond tran...

Narrator: Henry Strozier
Published: 05/07/2019

A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
A Short History of Nearly Everything
by Bill Bryson

One of the world’s most beloved and bestselling writers takes his ultimate journey -- into the most intriguing and intractable questions that science seeks to answer.In A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson trekked the Appalachian Trail -- well, mo...

Narrator: Richard Matthews,Bill Bryson
Published: 02/04/2003
{"id":"1966744","ean":"9781681680538","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Silk Roads: A New History of the World","subtitle":"A New History of the World","author":"Peter Frankopan","rating_average":"4.71","narrator":"Laurence Kennedy","ubr_id":"1966744","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"34.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"20.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Laurence Kennedy","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 24 hr 16 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}