The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy, Jeanne Birdsall
  • List: $19.50  |  Sale: $13.65
    Club: $9.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Author: Jeanne Birdsall

Series: The Penderwicks #1

Narrator: Susan Denaker

Unabridged: 6 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/24/2006

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Family - Siblings

Ages: 12 - 13

Synopsis

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.


From the Hardcover edition.

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Lisa the Librarian on 2007-05-26 12:05:31

The tale is simple and sweet. Four sisters from New England live, if only for 3 weeks in the summer, near a mansion with a lonely boy and a piano. One of them is a writer who works in the attic. No, it's not Little Women, but a tribute to Alcott. It's an innocent story with little real danger or conflict, but well worth the listening. I was worried that neither Jeanne Birdsall nor Suan Denaker would be able to distinguish the four sisters and the supporting characters, but no fear. Both do an excellent job. If it has one flaw, it is a little too sanitized. But a very enjoyable listen for any member of the family.

The Penderwicks Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from The Penderwicks

{"id":"317435","ean":"9780307284525","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy","subtitle":"A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy","author":"Jeanne Birdsall","rating_average":"3.92","narrator":"Susan Denaker","series_id":"9629","ubr_id":"317435","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.68","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Susan Denaker","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 44 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}