The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel, Pam Jenoff
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel

Author: Pam Jenoff

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden, Henrietta Meire, Candace Thaxton

Unabridged: 11 hr 41 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 01/29/2019

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan’s Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female secret agents during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through Grand Central Terminal on her way to work, Grace Healey finds an abandoned suitcase tucked beneath a bench. Unable to resist her own curiosity, Grace opens the suitcase, where she discovers a dozen photographs—each of a different woman. In a moment of impulse, Grace takes the photographs and quickly leaves the station.Grace soon learns that the suitcase belonged to a woman named Eleanor Trigg, leader of a network of female secret agents who were deployed out of London during the war. Twelve of these women were sent to Occupied Europe as couriers and radio operators to aid the resistance, but they never returned home, their fates a mystery. Setting out to learn the truth behind the women in the photographs, Grace finds herself drawn to a young mother turned agent named Marie, whose daring mission overseas reveals a remarkable story of friendship, valor and betrayal.Vividly rendered and inspired by true events, New York Times bestselling author Pam Jenoff shines a light on the incredible heroics of the brave women of the war and weaves a mesmerizing tale of courage, sisterhood and the great strength of women to survive in the hardest of circumstances.

Recommended

Sarah's Key, Tatiana de Rosnay
Sarah's Key
by Tatiana de Rosnay

Paris, July 1942: Sarah, a ten year-old girl, is brutally arrested with her family by the French police in the Vel' d'Hiv' roundup, but not before she locks her younger brother in a cupboard in the family's apartment, thinking that she will be back ...

Narrator: Polly Stone
Published: 04/29/2009

The Lost Vintage, Ann Mah
The Lost Vintage
by Ann Mah

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who re...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/19/2018

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Alice Network, Kate Quinn
The Alice Network
by Kate Quinn

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/06/2017

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star “Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her — and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is ...

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

About the Author

If there were a story about empowered women, Pam Jenoff would certainly be a great example. She was born in Maryland and grew up outside of Philadelphia. She went to Cherokee High School, George Washington University, Cambridge University, and University of Pennsylvania. Her university work garnered her a Master's Degree in history and a Juris Doctorate Degree in Law. After receiving her master's, she accepted an appointment as Special Assistant to the Army, where she observed and participated in special operations at the highest levels of government. Some of those included......helping secure a memorial for Pan Am 103 victims at Arlington Cemetery, observing recovery efforts at the Oklahoma City bombing, and attending the ceremonies to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of WW II at European sites. Pam then moved to the State Department, after which she was assigned to the U.S. Consulate in Krakow, Poland. She developed close relations with the surviving Jewish community.

In 1996, she went to law school, and now teaches at Rutgers University. She is also the author of The Kommandant's Girl, The Winter Guest, The Diplomat's Wife, The Ambassador's Daughter, Almost Home, A Hidden Affair, The Things We Cherished, and her most recent work, The Other Girl. Pam is a resident of Haddonfield, New Jersey with her husband and three children.

{"id":"2784208","ean":"9781488205699","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Pam Jenoff","rating_average":"4.23","narrator":"Elizabeth Knowelden","ubr_id":"2784208","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Elizabeth Knowelden","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 15 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}