The Land of Forgotten Girls, Erin Entrada Kelly
  • List: $15.99  |  Sale: $11.20
    Club: $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Land of Forgotten Girls

Author: Erin Entrada Kelly

Narrator: Lulu Lam

Unabridged: 5 hr 2 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 03/01/2016

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Emigration & Immigration

Ages: 12 - 13

Synopsis

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls “A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance.” For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award.Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove—their mythical, world-traveling aunt—is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.Booklist said, “Kelly’s sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol’s true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life.”

Recommended

Return to Sender, Julia Alvarez
Return to Sender
by Julia Alvarez

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez
Published: 09/14/2010

Hello, Universe, Erin Entrada Kelly
Hello, Universe
by Erin Entrada Kelly

List: $18.99

Sale: $13.29

Club: $9.49

Narrator: Amielynn Abellera
Published: 03/14/2017

Front Desk, Kelly Yang
Front Desk
by Kelly Yang

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Sunny Lu
Published: 11/06/2018

The Night Diary, Veera Hiranandani
The Night Diary
by Veera Hiranandani

List: $18.00

Sale: $12.60

Club: $9.00

Narrator: Priya Ayyar
Published: 03/06/2018

The Turtle of Oman, Naomi Shihab Nye
The Turtle of Oman
by Naomi Shihab Nye

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Peter Ganim
Published: 08/26/2014

The Face on the Milk Carton, Caroline B. Cooney
The Face on the Milk Carton
by Caroline B. Cooney

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Alyssa Bresnahan
Published: 01/11/2000

The Only Road, Alexandra Diaz
The Only Road
by Alexandra Diaz

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Ramon De Ocampo
Published: 11/12/2019

Maggie's Door, Patricia Reilly Giff
Maggie's Door
by Patricia Reilly Giff

List: $8.95

Sale: $6.27

Club: $4.47

Narrator: Fionnula Flanagan
Published: 09/09/2003

Three Keys, Kelly Yang
Three Keys
by Kelly Yang

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Sunny Lu
Published: 09/15/2020
{"id":"1263109","ean":"9780062448194","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Land of Forgotten Girls","subtitle":"","author":"Erin Entrada Kelly","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Lulu Lam","ubr_id":"1263109","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Lulu Lam","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}