The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas, Todd Balf
  • List: $14.95  |  Sale: $10.47
    Club: $7.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas

Author: Todd Balf

Narrator: Scott Brick

Abridged: 6 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 12/30/2003

Genre: History - Latin America - Central America

Synopsis

“Commit yourself to the Virgin Mary, for in her hands is the way into the Darién—and in God’s is the way out.”

The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America’s first ship canal exploration across a narrow piece of land in Central America called the Darién, a place that loomed large in the minds of the world’s most courageous adventurers in the nineteenth century. With rival warships and explorers from England and France days behind, the 27-member U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition landed on the Atlantic shore at Caledonia Bay in eastern Panama to begin their mad dash up the coast-hugging mountains of the Darién wilderness. The whole world watched as this party attempted to be the first to traverse the 40-mile isthmus, the narrowest spot between the Atlantic and Pacific in all the Americas.

Later, government investigators would say they were doomed before they started. Amid the speculative fever for an Atlantic and Pacific ship canal, the terrain to be crossed had been grossly misrepresented and fictitiously mapped. By January 27, 1854, the Americans had served out their last provisions and were severely footsore but believed the river they had arrived at was an artery to the Pacific, their destination. Leading them was the charismatic commander Isaac Strain, an adventuring 33-year-old U.S. Navy lieutenant. The party could have turned back except, said Strain, they were to a man “revolted at the idea” of failing at a task they seemed destined to accomplish. Like the first men to try to scale Everest or reach the North Pole, they felt the eyes of their countrymen upon them.

Yet Strain’s party would wander lost in the jungle for another sixty nightmarish days, following a tortuously contorted and uncharted tropical river. Their guns rusted in the damp heat, expected settlements never materialized, and the lush terrain provided little to no sustenance. As the unending march dragged on, the party was beset by flesh-embedding parasites and a range of infectious tropical diseases they had no antidote for (or understanding of). In the desperate final days, in the throes of starvation, the survivors flirted with cannibalism and the sickest men had to be left behind so, as the journal keeper painfully recorded, the rest might have a chance to live.

The U.S. Darién Exploring Expedition’s 97-day ordeal of starvation, exhaustion, and madness—a tragedy turned “triumph of the soul” due to the courage and self-sacrifice of their leader and the seamen who devotedly followed him—is one of the great untold tales of human survival and exploration. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his junior officers, other period sources, and Balf’s own treks in the Darién Gap, this is a rich and utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac’s Storm, and other sagas of adventure at the limits of human endurance.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Our Lady of Guadalupe Mother of the Civilization of Love, Carl Anderson
Our Lady of Guadalupe
by Carl Anderson

Nearly a decade after Spain's conquest of Mexico, the future of Christianity on the American continent was very much in doubt. Confronted with a hostile colonial government and Native Americans wary of conversion, the newly-appointed bishop-elect of...

Narrator: John Allen Nelson
Published: 10/16/2009

The Darkest Jungle The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas, Todd Balf
The Darkest Jungle
by Todd Balf

“Commit yourself to the Virgin Mary, for in her hands is the way into the Darién—and in God’s is the way out.”The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America’s first ship canal exploration across a narrow p...

Narrator: Scott Brick,Ray Childs
Published: 12/30/2003

Jungleland A Mysterious Lost City, a WWII Spy, and a True Story of Deadly Adventure, Christopher S. Stewart
Jungleland
by Christopher S. Stewart

"I began to daydream about the jungle...."On April 6, 1940, explorer and future World War II spy Theodore Morde (who would one day attempt to assassinate Adolf Hitler), anxious about the perilous journey that lay ahead of him, struggled to ...

Narrator: Jeff Brick
Published: 01/08/2013

The Darkest Jungle The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas, Todd Balf
The Darkest Jungle
by Todd Balf

“Commit yourself to the Virgin Mary, for in her hands is the way into the Darién—and in God’s is the way out.”The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America’s first ship canal exploration across a narrow p...

Narrator: Scott Brick,Ray Childs
Published: 12/30/2003

Fire And Blood A History Of Mexico, T. R. Fehrenbach
Fire And Blood
by T. R. Fehrenbach

There have been many Mexicos: the country of varied terrain, of Amerindian heritage, of the Spanish Conquest, of the Revolution, and of the modern era of elections and the rule of bankers. Mexico was forged in the fires of successive civilizations, ...

Narrator: Timothy Andres Pabon
Published: 11/06/2018

The Last River The Tragic Race for Shangri-la, Todd Balf
The Last River
by Todd Balf

The Last River: The Tragic Race for Shangri-la is a breathtaking account of the ill-fated October 1998 expedition of an American whitewater kayaking team who traveled deep into the Tsangpo Gorge in Tibet to run the Yarlung Tsangpo, known in paddling...

Narrator: Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 09/12/2000

They Should Stay There The Story of Mexican Migration and Repatriation during the Great Depression, Fernando Saul Alanis Enciso
They Should Stay There
by Fernando Saul Alanis Enciso

While Mexicans were hopeful for economic reform following the Mexican revolution, by the 1930s, large numbers of Mexican nationals had already moved north and were living in the United States in one of the twentieth century's most massive movements ...

Narrator: Rudy Sanda
Published: 09/11/2017

Panama Fever The Epic Story of the Building of the Panama Canal, Matthew Parker
Panama Fever
by Matthew Parker

The building of the Panama Canal was one of the greatest engineering feats in human history. A tale of exploration, conquest, money, politics, and medicine, Panama Fever charts the challenges that marked the long, labyrinthine road to the building o...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 03/18/2008

Conquistadors, Michael Wood
Conquistadors
by Michael Wood

Following in the footsteps of the greatest Spanish adventurers, Michael Wood retraces the path of the conquistadors from Amazonia to Lake Titicaca, and from the deserts of North Mexico to the heights of Machu Picchu. As he travels the same routes as...

Narrator: John Telfer
Published: 03/01/2013
{"id":"319870","ean":"9780739303535","abr":"Abridged","title":"The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas","subtitle":"The True Story of the Darien Expedition and America's Ill-Fated Race to Connect the Seas","author":"Todd Balf","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Scott Brick","ubr_id":"326992","abr_id":"319870","ubr_price":"17.95","abr_price":"14.95","ubr_memprice":"11.67","abr_memprice":"9.72","ubr_narrator":"Scott Brick","abr_narrator":"Ray Childs","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: 6 hr 10 min"}