The Bone Houses, Emily Lloyd-Jones
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Bone Houses

Author: Emily Lloyd-Jones

Narrator: Moira Quirk

Unabridged: 9 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 09/24/2019

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Fantasy - Historical

Ages: 13 - 17

Synopsis

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab. Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.The risen corpses are known as "bone houses," and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairytale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first page.

Recommended

A Great and Terrible Beauty, Libba Bray
A Great and Terrible Beauty
by Libba Bray

The first book in the critically acclaimed New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Gemma Doyle trilogy, the exhilarating and haunting saga from the author of The Diviners series and Going Bovine.It&rsquo...

Narrator: Josephine Bailey,Joanna Wyatt
Published: 12/09/2003

Dodger, Terry Pratchett
Dodger
by Terry Pratchett

A storm. Rain-lashed city streets. A flash of lightning. A scruffy lad sees a girl leap desperately from a horse-drawn carriage in a vain attempt to escape her captors. Can the lad stand by and let her be caught again? Of course not, because he's ....

Narrator: Stephen Briggs
Published: 09/25/2012

Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr, Garth Nix
Lirael: Daughter of the Clayr
by Garth Nix

Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. Abandoned by her mother, ignorant of her father's identity, Lirael resembles no one else in her large extended family living in the Clayr's glacier. She doesn't even have the Sight--the abili...

Narrator: Tim Curry
Published: 05/14/2002

First Test Book 1 of the Protector of the Small Quartet, Tamora Pierce
First Test
by Tamora Pierce

Kel will not allow this first test to be her last. Her adventure begins in the New York Times bestselling series from the fantasy author who is a legend herself: TAMORA PIERCE.   Keladry of Mindelan is the first girl who dares to take advantage...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 11/13/2007

Sabriel, Garth Nix
Sabriel
by Garth Nix

A tale of dark secrets, deep love, and dangerous magic!Since childhood, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who refuse to stay dead. But now her father, the Charte...

Narrator: Tim Curry
Published: 04/23/2002

A Great and Terrible Beauty, Libba Bray
A Great and Terrible Beauty
by Libba Bray

The first book in the critically acclaimed New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Gemma Doyle trilogy, the exhilarating and haunting saga from the author of The Diviners series and Going Bovine.It&rsquo...

Narrator: Josephine Bailey,Joanna Wyatt
Published: 02/24/2004

Trickster's Choice, Tamora Pierce
Trickster's Choice
by Tamora Pierce

Tamora Pierce brings readers another Tortall adventure! Alianne is the teenage daughter of the famed Alanna, the first lady knight in Tortall. Young Aly follows in the quieter footsteps of her father, however, delighting in the art of spying. When s...

Narrator: Trini Alvarado
Published: 09/23/2003

Airman, Eoin Colfer
Airman
by Eoin Colfer

Conor Broekhart was born to fly. In fact, legend has it that he was born flying, in a hot air balloon at the Paris World’s Fair.In the 1890s Conor and his family live on the sovereign Saltee Islands, off the Irish coast. Conor spends his days ...

Narrator: John Keating
Published: 12/26/2007

House of Furies, Madeleine Roux
House of Furies
by Madeleine Roux

An all-new creepy fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author of Asylum.Featuring stunning interior illustrations from artist Iris Compiet, plus photo-collages that bring the story to chilling life, House of Furies invites readers to ...

Narrator: Billie Fulford-Brown
Published: 05/30/2017
{"id":"3411105","ean":"9781549124075","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Bone Houses","subtitle":"","author":"Emily Lloyd-Jones","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Moira Quirk","ubr_id":"3411105","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Moira Quirk","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}