The Black Kids, Christina Hammonds Reed
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Black Kids

Author: Christina Hammonds Reed

Narrator: Kiersey Clemons

Unabridged: 8 hr 55 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 08/04/2020

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Coming Of Age

Synopsis

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin “A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion “A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Recommended

180 Seconds, Jessica Park
180 Seconds
by Jessica Park

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Arielle DeLisle
Published: 04/25/2017

The Hundredth Queen, Emily R. King
The Hundredth Queen
by Emily R. King

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Lauren Ezzo
Published: 06/01/2017

Release, Patrick Ness
Release
by Patrick Ness

List: $18.99

Sale: $13.29

Club: $9.49

Narrator: Michael Crouch
Published: 09/19/2017

The Scar Boys, Len Vlahos
The Scar Boys
by Len Vlahos

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe
Published: 01/21/2014

In the Key of Nira Ghani, Natascha Deen
In the Key of Nira Ghani
by Natascha Deen

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Kamali Minter
Published: 04/09/2019

This Book is Not Yet Rated, Peter Bognanni
This Book is Not Yet Rated
by Peter Bognanni

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 04/09/2019

Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel, Val Emmich
Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel
by Val Emmich

List: $21.98

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Ben Levi Ross
Published: 10/09/2018

The Speed of Falling Objects, Nancy Richardson Fischer
The Speed of Falling Objects
by Nancy Richardson Fischer

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Caitlin Davies
Published: 10/01/2019

Smothered, Autumn Chiklis
Smothered
by Autumn Chiklis

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Autumn Chiklis
Published: 08/07/2018
{"id":"4231350","ean":"9781797112213","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Black Kids","subtitle":"","author":"Christina Hammonds Reed","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Kiersey Clemons","ubr_id":"4231350","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kiersey Clemons","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 55 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}