Property of the Rebel Librarian, Allison Varnes
  • List: $18.00  |  Sale: $12.60
    Club: $9.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Property of the Rebel Librarian

Author: Allison Varnes

Narrator: Monika Felice Smith

Unabridged: 5 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 09/18/2018

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Books & Libraries

Ages: 12 - 12

Synopsis

Celebrate the freedom to read with this timely, empowering middle-grade debut in the spirit of The View from Saturday or Frindle.

When twelve-year-old June Harper's parents discover what they deem an inappropriate library book, they take strict parenting to a whole new level. And everything June loves about Dogwood Middle School unravels: librarian Ms. Bradshaw is suspended, an author appearance is canceled, the library is gutted, and all books on the premises must have administrative approval.

But June can't give up books . . . and she realizes she doesn't have to when she spies a Little Free Library on her walk to school. As the rules become stricter at school and at home, June keeps turning the pages of the banned books that continue to appear in the little library. It's a delicious secret . . . and one she can't keep to herself. June starts a banned book library of her own in an abandoned locker at school. The risks grow alongside her library's popularity, and a movement begins at Dogwood Middle--a movement that, if exposed, could destroy her. But if it's powerful enough, maybe it can save Ms. Bradshaw and all that she represents: the freedom to read.

Equal parts fun and empowering, this novel explores censorship, freedom of speech, and activism. For any kid who doesn't believe one person can effect change...and for all the kids who already know they can!

Recommended

Mr. Lemoncello's Great Library Race, Chris Grabenstein
Mr. Lemoncello's Great Library Race
by Chris Grabenstein

#1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Grabenstein is back with the third fantastically fun, puzzle-packed MR. LEMONCELLO adventure!   On your marks. Get set. Lemon, cello, GO!   Everyone’s favorite game maker, Mr. Lemoncello, is...

Narrator: Jesse Bernstein
Published: 10/10/2017

The Island of Dr. Libris, Chris Grabenstein
The Island of Dr. Libris
by Chris Grabenstein

New from the author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and coauthor of the I Funny series with James Patterson! Celebrate the power of imagination with this action-packed New York Times bestseller that shows that sometimes the real story ...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 03/24/2015

The Fall of the Readers The Forbidden Library: Volume 4, Django Wexler
The Fall of the Readers
by Django Wexler

In this thrilling conclusion to Alice's adventures in The Forbidden Library she must lead her band of friends, magical beings, and creatures against the collected might of the Old Readers—perfect for fans of Story Thieves, Inkheart,&...

Narrator: Cassandra Morris
Published: 12/05/2017

Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics, Chris Grabenstein
Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics
by Chris Grabenstein

The New York Times bestselling, puzzle-packed sequel to the award-winning Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson! &...

Narrator: Jesse Bernstein
Published: 01/05/2016

The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity Brixton Brothers, Book 1, Mac Barnett
The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity
by Mac Barnett

Steve Brixton always wanted to be a detective . . . until he found out he already was one. It all starts here: the thrilling story of Steve Brixton’s first case. Our hero has a national treasure to recover, a criminal mastermind to unmask, and...

Narrator: Arte Johnson
Published: 01/12/2010

The School Story, Andrew Clements
The School Story
by Andrew Clements

From the best-selling author of Frindle, The Landry News, and The Janitor's Boy.Twelve-year-old Natalie has written a fabulous book and is determined to get it published. Luckily, she has connections to the publishing world--her mother is an assist...

Narrator: Spencer Kayden
Published: 09/23/2003

Steinbeck's Ghost, Lewis Buzbee
Steinbeck's Ghost
by Lewis Buzbee

It’s been two months now since Travis’s family moved from their shabby old house to a development so new that it seems totally unreal. There’s one place, though, where Travis can connect with his old life: the Salinas library. He a...

Narrator: Christopher Lane
Published: 09/08/2008

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, Chris Grabenstein
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library
by Chris Grabenstein

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with Jam...

Narrator: Jesse Bernstein
Published: 01/07/2014

The Forbidden Library, Django Wexler
The Forbidden Library
by Django Wexler

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of ElsewhereAlice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her fi...

Narrator: Cassandra Morris
Published: 03/17/2015
{"id":"2423710","ean":"9780525635864","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Property of the Rebel Librarian","subtitle":"","author":"Allison Varnes","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Monika Felice Smith","ubr_id":"2423710","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.70","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Monika Felice Smith","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}