Pie in the Sky, Remy Lai
  • List: $18.00  |  Sale: $12.60
    Club: $9.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Pie in the Sky

Author: Remy Lai

Narrator: Remy Hii

Unabridged: 5 hr 49 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 12/17/2019

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Emigration & Immigration

Synopsis

A poignant, laugh-out-loud middle-grade novel--adapted for audio--about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!

"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." -Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

Remy Lai's hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, with its pitch-perfect writing, makes for a scrumptious audiobook adaptation. It will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular 'Wimpy Kid' series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." --School Library Journal, starred review

Recommended

Maggie's Door, Patricia Reilly Giff
Maggie's Door
by Patricia Reilly Giff

List: $8.95

Sale: $6.27

Club: $4.47

Narrator: Fionnula Flanagan
Published: 09/09/2003

The Land of Forgotten Girls, Erin Entrada Kelly
The Land of Forgotten Girls
by Erin Entrada Kelly

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Lulu Lam
Published: 03/01/2016

The Turtle of Oman, Naomi Shihab Nye
The Turtle of Oman
by Naomi Shihab Nye

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Peter Ganim
Published: 08/26/2014

Front Desk, Kelly Yang
Front Desk
by Kelly Yang

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Sunny Lu
Published: 11/06/2018

Three Keys, Kelly Yang
Three Keys
by Kelly Yang

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Sunny Lu
Published: 09/15/2020

Land of the Cranes, Aida Salazar
Land of the Cranes
by Aida Salazar

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Dani Gonzalez
Published: 09/15/2020

Return to Sender, Julia Alvarez
Return to Sender
by Julia Alvarez

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez
Published: 09/14/2010

The Only Road, Alexandra Diaz
The Only Road
by Alexandra Diaz

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Ramon De Ocampo
Published: 11/12/2019

The Night Diary, Veera Hiranandani
The Night Diary
by Veera Hiranandani

List: $18.00

Sale: $12.60

Club: $9.00

Narrator: Priya Ayyar
Published: 03/06/2018
{"id":"3594615","ean":"9780593208427","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Pie in the Sky","subtitle":"","author":"Remy Lai","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Remy Hii","ubr_id":"3594615","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.70","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Remy Hii","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}