One Half from the East, Nadia Hashimi
  • List: $18.99  |  Sale: $13.29
    Club: $9.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

One Half from the East

Author: Nadia Hashimi

Narrator: Ariana Delawari

Unabridged: 5 hr 54 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 09/06/2016

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - People & Places - Middle East

Ages: 12 - 12

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Recommended

Charlotte's Web, E. B. White
Charlotte's Web
by E. B. White

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Melissa Sweet
Published: 10/29/2019

The Hunger Games Special Edition, Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

List: $27.99

Sale: $19.59

Club: $13.99

Narrator: Tatiana Maslany
Published: 10/30/2018

Magic Tree House #40: Eve of the Emperor Penguin, Mary Pope Osborne
Magic Tree House #40: Eve of the Empe...
by Mary Pope Osborne

List: $8.00

Sale: $5.60

Club: $4.00

Narrator: Mary Pope Osborne
Published: 09/23/2008

Magic Tree House #20: Dingoes at Dinnertime, Mary Pope Osborne
Magic Tree House #20: Dingoes at Dinn...
by Mary Pope Osborne

List: $6.00

Sale: $4.21

Club: $3.00

Narrator: Mary Pope Osborne
Published: 03/13/2007

The Red Pencil, Andrea Davis Pinkney
The Red Pencil
by Andrea Davis Pinkney

List: $21.98

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Andrea Davis Pinkney
Published: 09/16/2014

The Breadwinner, Deborah Ellis
The Breadwinner
by Deborah Ellis

List: $8.95

Sale: $6.27

Club: $4.47

Narrator: Rita Wolf
Published: 07/23/2002

A House Without Windows, Nadia Hashimi
A House Without Windows
by Nadia Hashimi

List: $28.99

Sale: $20.29

Club: $14.49

Narrator: Susan Nezami
Published: 08/16/2016

Parvana's Journey, Deborah Ellis
Parvana's Journey
by Deborah Ellis

List: $10.00

Sale: $7.00

Club: $5.00

Narrator: Meera Simhan
Published: 08/11/2009

The Declaration, Gemma Malley
The Declaration
by Gemma Malley

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Charlotte Parry
Published: 10/22/2007
{"id":"1429041","ean":"9780062570215","abr":"Unabridged","title":"One Half from the East","subtitle":"","author":"Nadia Hashimi","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Ariana Delawari","ubr_id":"1429041","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ariana Delawari","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}