Insomnia, Stephen King
  • List: $39.99  |  Sale: $28.00
    Club: $19.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Insomnia

Author: Stephen King

Narrator: Eli Wallach

Unabridged: 25 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 01/01/2016

Genre: Fiction - Horror

Synopsis

A #1 national bestseller—“A yarn so packed with suspense, romance, literary reference, fascinating miscellaneous knowledge, and heart that only Stephen King could have written it. Marvelous—that is, full of marvels” (Booklist).Since his wife died, Ralph Roberts has been having trouble sleeping. Each night he wakes up a bit earlier, until he’s barely sleeping at all. During his late night walks, he observes some strange things going on in Derry, Maine. He sees colored ribbons streaming from people’s heads, two strange little men wandering around town after dark, and more. He begins to suspect that these visions are something more than hallucinations brought on by lack of sleep. There’s a definite mean streak running through this small New England city; underneath its ordinary surface awesome and terrifying forces are at work. The dying has been going on in Derry for a long, long time. Now Ralph is part of it…and lack of sleep is the least of his worries. Returning to the same Maine town where It took place, a town that has haunted Stephen King for decades, Insomnia blends King’s trademark bone-chilling realism with supernatural terror to create yet another masterpiece of suspense.

Recommended

Desperation, Stephen King
Desperation
by Stephen King

“The terror is relentless” (Publishers Weekly) in Stephen King’s #1 national bestseller about a little mining town, Desperation, that many will enter on their way to somewhere else. But getting out is not easy as it would seem̷...

Narrator: Stephen King
Published: 02/02/2016

The Whispering Room, Dean Koontz
The Whispering Room
by Dean Koontz

Jane Hawk-fiction's most relentless, resourceful, stunning new heroine-continues her battle against a murderous conspiracy in the riveting sequel to The Silent Corner. "No time to delay. Do what you were born to do. Fame will be yours when you do th...

Narrator: Elisabeth Rodgers
Published: 11/21/2017

The Silent Corner, Dean Koontz
The Silent Corner
by Dean Koontz

A dazzling new series debuts with a remarkable heroine certain to become a new icon of suspense, propelled by the singular narrative genius of #1 New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. "I very much need to be dead." These are the chilling wo...

Narrator: Elisabeth Rodgers
Published: 06/20/2017

The Regulators, Stephen King
The Regulators
by Stephen King

The battle against evil has begun in this “devishly entertaining” (Publishers Weekly) story of a suburban neighborhood in the grip of surreal terror—a #1 national bestseller from Stephen King writing as Richard Bachman.Peaceful sub...

Narrator: Frank Muller
Published: 02/02/2016

No Longer Safe, AJ Waines
No Longer Safe
by AJ Waines

For fans of Paula Hawkins, Ruth Ware and Lisa Scottoline comes a new thriller from best-selling author of "Girl on a Train", "Dark Place to Hide" and "The Evil Beneath". She was your best friend. Now she’s your deadliest enemy – and ...

Narrator: Emma Powell
Published: 06/08/2016

The Shining, Stephen King
The Shining
by Stephen King

Jack Torrance’s new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he’ll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. ...

Narrator: Campbell Scott
Published: 08/07/2012

Watchers, Dean Koontz
Watchers
by Dean Koontz

Nominee for the 2019 Audie Award for Best Male NarratorA “superior thriller”(Oakland Press) about a man, a dog, and a terrifying threat that could only have come from the imagination of #1 New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz...

Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
Published: 05/22/2018

Pet Sematary, Stephen King
Pet Sematary
by Stephen King

Never before available on unabridged audio! Dexter’s Michael C. Hall reads this classic horror story described by Publishers Weekly as the “most frightening novel Stephen King has ever written.” Soon to be a major motion picture!W...

Narrator: Michael C. Hall
Published: 03/27/2018

The Talisman, Stephen King
The Talisman
by Stephen King

Now available on audio—completely unabridged—on MP3 CD for only $19.9, Stephen King and Peter Straub’s epic thriller about a young boy’s quest to save his mother’s life.Jack Sawyer, twelve years old, is about to begin a...

Narrator: Frank Muller
Published: 11/06/2012

About the Author

Stephen Edwin King was born in 1947 in the city of Portland, Maine. He attended the University of Maine, where he received a B.A. degree in English in 1970. He married his present wife, Tabitha, in 1971, and they have three children. King is an American author of contemporary horror, supernatural fiction, suspense, science fiction, and fantasy. His novels have sold more than 350 million copies. Many have been made into films, television movies, and comics. He has published 54 novels using a pen name (Richard Bachman) for a few of them. Many of his stories take place in his home state of Maine.

He has won about every possible literary award beginning with his 1980 novella, The Way Station. His most notable literary award was in 2007 for the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America.King has had the common human weaknesses including alcoholism and drug addiction. His health during that period was so bad that he barely remembered writing the novel, Cujo. The first novel written after he quit all dependent drugs and alcohol was Needful Things.Stephen King's wife, Tabitha, has published nine of her own novels along with both sons being published writers. His daughter is a Unitarian Universalism Church minister with her same sex partner.

A life altering happening beset King in June of 1999. King was walking on the shoulder of Route 5, in Lovell, Maine, when a driver, who was distracted by an unrestrained dog, struck him from behind. His severe injuries kept him in the hospital until July 9. His lawyer purchased the van that hit him to prevent it from being sold on eBay. It was crushed at a junkyard. King thought that he would not write again, but did resume writing with this caveat, "I'm writing, but I'm writing at a slower pace".

His most notable novels are: Carrie, The Shining, The Stand, Misery, It, The Dark Tower, Under the Dome, and The Shawshank Redemption.

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Kevin on 2009-05-15 10:03:43

Wow, after listening to this book, all I wanted to do was to take a nap. Terrible book, their fight scenes, were childish and the story line was awful, not worth anyone's time.

AudiobooksNow review by Stacy on 2010-04-19 17:53:21

I only made it to the middle of disc 5. I saw no point in trying to endure the rest of the ten million cd's. This book is very boring. Read it if you have insomnia. It will put you to sleep in seconds.

{"id":"1184122","ean":"9781508218258","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Insomnia","subtitle":"","author":"Stephen King","rating_average":"4.28","narrator":"Eli Wallach","ubr_id":"1184122","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"39.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"23.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Eli Wallach","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 25 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}