I'll Be There for You: The One about Friends, Kelsey Miller
  • List: $21.99  |  Sale: $15.39
    Club: $10.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

I'll Be There for You: The One about Friends

Author: Kelsey Miller

Narrator: Amber Benson

Unabridged: 8 hr 27 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harlequin Audio

Published: 10/23/2018

Genre: Performing Arts - Television - Genres - Comedy

Synopsis

An InStyle 10 Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down This October

SIX FRIENDS THAT BECAME A FAMILY.

A TELEVISION SHOW THAT BECAME A PHENOMENON.


Today, Friends is remembered as an icon of ’90s comedy and the Must See TV years. But when the series debuted in 1994, no one anticipated the sensation it would become. From the first wave of Friends mania to the backlash and renaissance that followed, the show maintained an uncanny connection to its audience, who saw it both as a reflection of their own lives and an aspirational escape from reality. In the years since, Friends has evolved from prime-time megahit to nostalgic novelty, and finally, to certified classic. Ross, Rachel, Monica, Chandler, Joey and Phoebe have entered the pantheon of great television characters, and yet their stories remain relevant still.

I’ll Be There for You is a deep dive into Friends history and lore, exploring all aspects of the show, from its unlikely origins to the societal conditions that amplified its success. Journalist and pop culture expert Kelsey Miller relives the show’s most powerful moments, sheds light on its sometimes dated and problematic elements, and examines the worldwide trends that Friends catalyzed, from contemporary coffee culture to the wildly popular ’90s haircut The Rachel. Taking readers behind the scenes, Miller traces the cast’s rise to fame and untangles the complex relationship between the actors and their characters. Weaving in revelatory interviews and personal stories, she investigates the role of celebrity media, world-changing events and the dawning of the digital age—all of which influenced both the series and its viewers.

I’ll Be There for You is the definitive retrospective of Friends, not only for fans of the series, but for anyone who’s ever wondered what it is about this show—and television comedy—that resonates so powerfully.

Recommended

New Wine Rules, The A Genuinely Helpful Guide to Everything You Need to Know, Jon Bonne
New Wine Rules, The
by Jon Bonne

Matt Kramer, author and columnist for Wine Spectator, calls The New California Wine some of the most insightful wine writing you'll read anywhere, claiming it offers the real skinny on cutting-edge California wine. Hugh Johnson, the author of The Wo...

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Published: 11/14/2017

Definitely Hispanic Essays on Growing Up Latino and Celebrating What Unites Us, LeJuan James
Definitely Hispanic
by LeJuan James

Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor and Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan Jam...

Narrator: LeJuan James
Published: 06/04/2019

Springfield Confidential Jokes, Secrets, and Outright Lies from a Lifetime Writing for The Simpsons, Mike Reiss
Springfield Confidential
by Mike Reiss

In celebration of The Simpsons thirtieth anniversary, the show’s longest-serving writer and producer offers a humorous look at the writing and making of the legendary Fox series that has become one of the most revered artistic achievements in...

Narrator: Mike Reiss
Published: 06/12/2018

The New Case for Gold, James Rickards
The New Case for Gold
by James Rickards

**USA Today bestseller and Wall Street Journal business bestseller**They say John Maynard Keynes called gold a "barbarous relic." They say there isn’t enough gold to support finance and commerce. They say the gold supply can’t increase f...

Narrator: James Rickards
Published: 04/05/2016

Brain Lock, Jeffrey M. Schwartz
Brain Lock
by Jeffrey M. Schwartz

The 20th anniversary edition of the definitive classic on defeating obsessive-compulsive behavior, with all-new material from the author.An estimated 5 million Americans suffer from obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and live diminished lives in w...

Narrator: Jeffrey M. Schwartz
Published: 07/28/2009

All the Pieces Matter The Inside Story of The Wire®, Jonathan Abrams
All the Pieces Matter
by Jonathan Abrams

The definitive oral history of the iconic and beloved TV show The Wire, as told by the actors, writers, directors, and others involved in its creationSince its final episode aired in 2008, HBO's acclaimed crime drama The Wire has only become more po...

Narrator: Jonathan Abrams
Published: 02/13/2018

palabra tuya, Una, Elvira Lindo
palabra tuya, Una
by Elvira Lindo

Rosario y Milagros son barrenderas y se conocen desde niNas. Rosario relata los aNos transcurridos junto a esa fuerza de la naturaleza que es Milagros; aNos de tropiezos, ilusiOn, miedo y realidades que han dado forma al temor de no merecer ser feli...

Narrator: Adriana Sananes
Published: 02/28/2011

The World of Downton Abbey, Jessica Fellowes
The World of Downton Abbey
by Jessica Fellowes

A lavish look at the real world--both the secret history and the behind-the-scenes drama--of the spellbinding Emmy Award-winning Masterpiece TV series Downton AbbeyApril 1912. The sun is rising behind Downton Abbey, a great and splendid house in a g...

Narrator: Julian Fellowes
Published: 02/10/2012

The Quest Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World, Daniel Yergin
The Quest
by Daniel Yergin

This long-awaited successor to Daniel Yergin’s Pulitzer Prize-winning The Prize provides an essential, overarching narrative of global energy, the principal engine of geopolitical and economic changeA master storyteller as well as a ...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/20/2011
{"id":"2600610","ean":"9781488205507","abr":"Unabridged","title":"I'll Be There for You: The One about Friends","subtitle":"","author":"Kelsey Miller","rating_average":"4.67","narrator":"Amber Benson","ubr_id":"2600610","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"21.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Amber Benson","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 28 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}