Hello, Universe, Erin Entrada Kelly
  • List: $18.99  |  Sale: $13.29
    Club: $9.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Hello, Universe

Author: Erin Entrada Kelly

Narrator: Amielynn Abellera

Unabridged: 5 hr 17 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 03/14/2017

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Friendship

Ages: 12 - 13

Synopsis

Winner of the Newbery Medal“A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.” —Washington PostAcclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—BooklistIn one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.“Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal

Recommended

The Sign of the Beaver, Elizabeth George Speare
The Sign of the Beaver
by Elizabeth George Speare

List: $8.95

Sale: $6.27

Club: $4.47

Narrator: Greg Schaffert
Published: 05/11/2004

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls, Lynn Weingarten
Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls
by Lynn Weingarten

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Rebekkah Ross
Published: 10/31/2016

Auggie & Me Three Wonder Stories, R. J. Palacio
Auggie & Me
by R. J. Palacio

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Michael Chamberlain
Published: 08/18/2015

The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett
The Secret Garden
by Frances Hodgson Burnett

List: $18.00

Sale: $12.60

Club: $9.00

Narrator: Finola Hughes
Published: 12/14/2010

Dork Diaries 4 Tales from a Not-So-Graceful Ice Princess, Rachel Renee Russell
Dork Diaries 4
by Rachel Renee Russell

List: $8.95

Sale: $6.27

Club: $4.47

Narrator: Jenni Barber
Published: 06/05/2012

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Benjamin Alire Saenz
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secr...
by Benjamin Alire Saenz

List: $17.95

Sale: $12.57

Club: $8.97

Narrator: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Published: 04/09/2013

Freak the Mighty, Rodman Philbrick
Freak the Mighty
by Rodman Philbrick

List: $13.50

Sale: $9.44

Club: $6.75

Narrator: Elden Henson
Published: 03/11/2008

Bridge to Terabithia, Katherine Paterson
Bridge to Terabithia
by Katherine Paterson

List: $8.99

Sale: $6.30

Club: $4.49

Narrator: Robert Sean Leonard
Published: 08/18/2009

Since You've Been Gone, Morgan Matson
Since You've Been Gone
by Morgan Matson

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Suzy Jackson
Published: 06/25/2014
{"id":"1587847","ean":"9780062661654","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Hello, Universe","subtitle":"","author":"Erin Entrada Kelly","rating_average":"4.63","narrator":"Amielynn Abellera","ubr_id":"1587847","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Amielynn Abellera","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}