Crossing: A Novel A Novel, Pajtim Statovci
  • List: $17.50  |  Sale: $12.25
    Club: $8.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Crossing: A Novel

Author: Pajtim Statovci

Narrator: David Hackston, Hillary Huber

Unabridged: 8 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/02/2019

Genre: Fiction - Lgbt

Synopsis

From the acclaimed author of My Cat Yugoslavia: a stunning, incandescent new novel that speaks to identity, war, exile, love, betrayal, and heartbreak

The death of head of state Enver Hoxha and the loss of his father leave Bujar growing up in the ruins of Communist Albania and of his own family. Only his fearless best friend, Agim—who is facing his own realizations about his gender and sexuality—gives him hope for the future. Together the two decide to leave everything behind and try their luck in Italy. But the struggle to feel at home—in a foreign country and even in one's own body—will have corrosive effects, spurring a dangerous search for new identities.

Steeped in a rich heritage of bewitching Albanian myth and legend, this is a deeply timely and deeply necessary novel about the broken reality for millions worldwide, about identity in all its complex permutations, and the human need to be seen.

Recommended

Love on Lexington Avenue, Lauren Layne
Love on Lexington Avenue
by Lauren Layne

“Fans of The Devil Wears Prada will flip over Love on Lexington Avenue.” —Karen Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne comes the second delightfully charming installment in th...

Narrator: Tim Paige
Published: 09/17/2019

The Reminders, Val Emmich
The Reminders
by Val Emmich

Perfect for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan's The Engagement or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, The Reminders follows what happens when a girl who can't forget befriends a man who's desperate to remember.Grief-stricken over his partner Sydney's de...

Narrator: Cassandra Morris
Published: 05/30/2017

Here Is What You Do Stories, Chris Dennis
Here Is What You Do
by Chris Dennis

A debut short story collection that explores the vulnerability, grit, and complex nature of our humanity from a new, vital queer voice. A yacht races to outrun a tsunami. A young man jailed on a drug charge forms a relationship with his cellmate t...

Narrator: Tanya Eby
Published: 06/04/2019

Going Dutch A Novel, James Gregor
Going Dutch
by James Gregor

* MOST ANTICIPATED SUMMER READING SELECTION BY * ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY * BUZZFEED * “In this intelligent, entertaining and elegantly written novel, James Gregor pulls off something many psychological novelists aspire to and few achieve: he conv...

Narrator: Michael David Axtell
Published: 08/20/2019

Passion on Park Avenue, Lauren Layne
Passion on Park Avenue
by Lauren Layne

“Perfect for readers who love the dishy women's fiction of Candace Bushnell.” —Booklist From the author of the New York Times bestselling Stiletto and Oxford series, the first in a sizzling new series following the unlikely friends...

Narrator: Nancy Wu
Published: 05/28/2019

Lost and Wanted A novel, Nell Freudenberger
Lost and Wanted
by Nell Freudenberger

"Freudenberger's brilliant and compassionate novel takes on the big questions of the universe and proves, again, that she is one of America's greatest writers." --Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of LessA LitHub, O Magazine, and Ente...

Narrator: Ann Marie Lee
Published: 04/02/2019

Confessions of the Fox, Jordy Rosenberg
Confessions of the Fox
by Jordy Rosenberg

Set in the eighteenth century London underworld, this bawdy, genre-bending novel reimagines the life of thief and jailbreaker Jack Sheppard to tell a profound story about gender, love, and liberation.

Narrator: Aden Hakimi
Published: 07/10/2018

Cantoras A novel, Carolina De Robertis
Cantoras
by Carolina De Robertis

"Carolina's writing, as always, blew me away. Cantoras is a stunning lullaby to revolution--and each woman in this novel sings it with a deep ferocity. Again and again, I was lifted, then gently set down again--either through tears, rage, or laughte...

Narrator: Carolina De Robertis
Published: 09/03/2019

Shikhandi and Other Queer Stories They Don't Tell You, Devdutt Pattanaik
Shikhandi and Other Queer Stories They Don't Tell You
by Devdutt Pattanaik

Patriarchy asserts men are superior to women Feminism clarifies women and men are equal Queerness questions what constitutes male and female Queerness isn’t only modern, Western or sexual, says mythologist Devdutt Pattanaik. Take a close look ...

Narrator: Rajiv Dadiya
Published: 06/25/2019
{"id":"3066646","ean":"9781984846969","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Crossing: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Pajtim Statovci","rating_average":"0","narrator":"David Hackston","ubr_id":"3066646","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.38","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"David Hackston","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}