Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome, Ty Tashiro
  • List: $18.99  |  Sale: $13.29
    Club: $9.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome

Author: Ty Tashiro

Narrator: George Newbern

Unabridged: 6 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 04/25/2017

Genre: Psychology - Interpersonal Relations

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward—and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming—an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this—which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior.Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it’s like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn’t pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential—and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

Recommended

How to Win Friends & Influence - A Condensation from the Book, Dale Carnegie
How to Win Friends & Influence - A Co...
by Dale Carnegie

List: $6.99

Sale: $4.90

Club: $3.49

Narrator: Jason McCoy
Published: 07/22/2019

Psychology of Human Relationships An Introductory Series, Connor Whiteley
Psychology of Human Relationships
by Connor Whiteley

List: $4.99

Sale: $3.50

Club: $2.49

Narrator: Connor Whiteley
Published: 07/30/2019

The Anatomy of Loneliness How to Find Your Way Back to Connection, Teal Swan
The Anatomy of Loneliness
by Teal Swan

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Teal Swan
Published: 01/30/2019

In Sheep's Clothing Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People, Jr. Simon
In Sheep's Clothing
by Jr. Simon

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Kevin Foley
Published: 07/25/2011

The Enneagram for Relationships Transform Your Connections with Friends, Family, Colleagues, and in Love, MA Whitmoyer-Ober
The Enneagram for Relationships
by MA Whitmoyer-Ober

List: $12.99

Sale: $9.10

Club: $6.49

Narrator: Tina Wolstencroft
Published: 07/28/2020

Rewired A Bold New Approach to Addiction and Recovery, Erica Spiegelman
Rewired
by Erica Spiegelman

List: $15.95

Sale: $11.16

Club: $7.97

Narrator: Susanna Burney
Published: 04/25/2017

Boundaries and Relationships Knowing, Protecting and Enjoying the Self, MD Whitfield
Boundaries and Relationships
by MD Whitfield

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Jonathan Yen
Published: 01/30/2018

Duped Double Lives, False Identities, and the Con Man I Almost Married, Abby Ellin
Duped
by Abby Ellin

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Therese Plummer
Published: 01/15/2019

The 7 Irresistible Qualities Men Want in a Woman: What High-Quality Men Secretly Look for When Choosing the One, Bruce Bryans
The 7 Irresistible Qualities Men Want...
by Bruce Bryans

List: $6.95

Sale: $4.87

Club: $3.47

Narrator: Dan Culhane
Published: 01/07/2016
{"id":"1661963","ean":"9780062659767","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome","subtitle":"The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome","author":"Ty Tashiro","rating_average":"4.25","narrator":"George Newbern","ubr_id":"1661963","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Newbern","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}