Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome, Ty Tashiro
  • List: $18.99  |  Sale: $13.29
    Club: $9.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome

Author: Ty Tashiro

Narrator: George Newbern

Unabridged: 6 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 04/25/2017

Genre: Psychology - Interpersonal Relations

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

In the vein of Quiet and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth comes this illuminating look at what it means to be awkward—and how the same traits that make us socially anxious and cause embarrassing faux pas also provide the seeds for extraordinary success.As humans, we all need to belong. While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming—an ongoing maze without an exit. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us. Though individuals may recognize their awkward disposition, they rarely understand why they are like this—which makes it hard for them to know how to adjust their behavior.Psychologist and interpersonal relationship expert Ty Tashiro knows what it’s like to be awkward. Growing up, he could do math in his head and memorize the earned run averages of every National League starting pitcher. But he couldn’t pour liquids without spilling and habitually forgot to bring his glove to Little League games. In Awkward, he unpacks decades of research into human intelligence, neuroscience, personality, and sociology to help us better understand this widely shared trait. He explores its nature vs. nurture origins, considers how the awkward view the world, and delivers a welcome counterintuitive message: the same characteristics that make people socially clumsy can be harnessed to produce remarkable achievements. Interweaving the latest research with personal tales and real world examples, Awkward offers reassurance and provides valuable insights into how we can embrace our personal quirks and unique talents to harness our awesome potential—and more comfortably navigate our complex world.

Recommended

Duped Double Lives, False Identities, and the Con Man I Almost Married, Abby Ellin
Duped
by Abby Ellin

Abby Ellin was shocked to learn that her fiancé was leading a secret life. But as she soon discovered, the world is full of people who aren't what they seem.From Abby Ellin's first date with the Commander, she was caught u...

Narrator: Therese Plummer
Published: 01/15/2019

Rewired A Bold New Approach to Addiction and Recovery, Erica Spiegelman
Rewired
by Erica Spiegelman

A REVOLUTIONARY NEW APPROACH TO ADDICTION RECOVERY FROM AN ADDICTION EXPERT   Rewired is a new, breakthrough approach to fighting addiction and self-damaging behavior by acknowledging our personal power to bring ourselves back from the brink...

Narrator: Susanna Burney
Published: 04/25/2017

Boundaries and Relationships Knowing, Protecting and Enjoying the Self, MD Whitfield
Boundaries and Relationships
by MD Whitfield

More than personal boundaries, this book is really about relationships—healthy and unhealthy ones. Here bestselling author and psychotherapist Charles Whitfield blends theories and dynamics from several disciplines into practical knowledge and...

Narrator: Jonathan Yen
Published: 01/30/2018

How to Win Friends & Influence - A Condensation from the Book, Dale Carnegie
How to Win Friends & Influence - A Condensation from the Book
by Dale Carnegie

From an era when 'self-help' books had genuine depth, Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People has influenced the world. No book in the self-help category matters more than this one. Learning to relate to people in the ways Carnegie ...

Narrator: Jason McCoy
Published: 07/22/2019

The Anatomy of Loneliness How to Find Your Way Back to Connection, Teal Swan
The Anatomy of Loneliness
by Teal Swan

Following in the footsteps of the success of The Completion Process, bestselling author and modern spiritual leader Teal Swan offers an in-depth exploration and understanding of loneliness. Drawing on her extraordinary healing technique, the Connect...

Narrator: Teal Swan
Published: 01/30/2019

The 7 Irresistible Qualities Men Want in a Woman: What High-Quality Men Secretly Look for When Choosing the One, Bruce Bryans
The 7 Irresistible Qualities Men Want in a Woman: What High-Quality Men Secretly Look for When Choosing the One
by Bruce Bryans

A high-quality man who knows what he wants will not settle for just any woman to build a meaningful relationship with. Men like this want a woman who exudes high character. And though she may be beautiful on the outside, he expects her inner worth t...

Narrator: Dan Culhane
Published: 01/07/2016

The Gaslight Effect How to Spot and Survive the Hidden Manipulation Others Use to Control Your Life, Dr. Robin Stern
The Gaslight Effect
by Dr. Robin Stern

Are You Being Gaslighted?Check for these telltale signs: 1. You constantly second-guess yourself.2. You wonder, “Am I being too sensitive?” a dozen times a day.3. You wonder frequently if you are a “good enough” girlfriend/wi...

Narrator: Nan Mcnamara
Published: 01/09/2018

People Skills How to Assert Yourself, Listen to Others, and Resolve Conflicts, Robert Bolton
People Skills
by Robert Bolton

Improve your personal and professional relationships instantly with this timeless guide to communication, listening skills, body language, and conflict resolution.A wall of silent resentment shuts you off from someone you love....You listen to an ar...

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 12/13/2016

In Sheep's Clothing Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People, Jr. Simon
In Sheep's Clothing
by Jr. Simon

Dr. George K. Simon knows how people push your buttons: your children—especially teens—are experts at it, as is your mate. A coworker may quietly undermine your efforts while professing to be helpful, or your boss may prey on your weakne...

Narrator: Kevin Foley
Published: 07/25/2011
{"id":"1661963","ean":"9780062659767","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Awkward: The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome","subtitle":"The Science of Why We're Socially Awkward and Why That's Awesome","author":"Ty Tashiro","rating_average":"4.25","narrator":"George Newbern","ubr_id":"1661963","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Newbern","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}