A Bend in the Stars, Rachel Barenbaum
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

A Bend in the Stars

Author: Rachel Barenbaum

Narrator: Therese Plummer, Edoardo Ballerini

Unabridged: 13 hr 11 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 05/14/2019

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 1

Synopsis

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest mysteries of the universe.In Russia, in the summer of 1914, as war with Germany looms and the Czar's army tightens its grip on the local Jewish community, Miri Abramov and her brilliant physicist brother, Vanya, are facing an impossible decision. Since their parents drowned fleeing to America, Miri and Vanya have been raised by their babushka, a famous matchmaker who has taught them to protect themselves at all costs: to fight, to kill if necessary, and always to have an escape plan. But now, with fierce, headstrong Miri on the verge of becoming one of Russia's only female surgeons, and Vanya hoping to solve the final puzzles of Einstein's elusive theory of relativity, can they bear to leave the homeland that has given them so much? Before they have time to make their choice, war is declared and Vanya goes missing, along with Miri's fiancé. Miri braves the firing squad to go looking for them both. As the eclipse that will change history darkens skies across Russia, not only the safety of Miri's own family but the future of science itself hangs in the balance. Grounded in real history -- and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914 -- A Bend in the Stars offers a heartstopping account of modern science's greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia.

Recommended

The Winter Soldier, Daniel Mason
The Winter Soldier
by Daniel Mason

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Laurence Dobiesz
Published: 09/11/2018

The Henna Artist, Alka Joshi
The Henna Artist
by Alka Joshi

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Sneha Mathan
Published: 03/03/2020

The Lions of Fifth Avenue A Novel, Fiona Davis
The Lions of Fifth Avenue
by Fiona Davis

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Erin Bennett , Lisa Flanagan
Published: 08/04/2020

Lost Roses A Novel, Martha Hall Kelly
Lost Roses
by Martha Hall Kelly

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Kathleen Gati
Published: 04/09/2019

Parade's End, Ford Madox Ford
Parade's End
by Ford Madox Ford

List: $39.95

Sale: $27.97

Club: $19.97

Narrator: Steven Crossley
Published: 08/07/2012

The Poppy Wife A Novel of the Great War, Caroline Scott
The Poppy Wife
by Caroline Scott

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Lucy Paterson
Published: 11/12/2019

The Queen's Fortune A Novel of Desiree, Napoleon, and the Dynasty That Outlasted the Empire, Allison Pataki
The Queen's Fortune
by Allison Pataki

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Justine Eyre
Published: 02/11/2020

Dark Tides A Novel, Philippa Gregory
Dark Tides
by Philippa Gregory

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 11/24/2020

The Pull of the Stars A Novel, Emma Donoghue
The Pull of the Stars
by Emma Donoghue

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Emma Lowe
Published: 07/21/2020
{"id":"3106508","ean":"9781549175718","abr":"Unabridged","title":"A Bend in the Stars","subtitle":"","author":"Rachel Barenbaum","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Therese Plummer","ubr_id":"3106508","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Therese Plummer","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}