Smarter Next Year: The Revolutionary Science for a Smarter, Happier You, Dr. David Bardsley
  • List: $13.17  |  Sale: $8.57

    Club: $6.58

  • Prices in CAD

Details

Smarter Next Year: The Revolutionary Science for a Smarter, Happier You

Author: Dr. David Bardsley

Narrator: Tom Parks

Unabridged: 2 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 03/05/2019

Genre: Psychology - Cognitive Psychology

Synopsis

Turn Back the Clock and Become Smarter Next YearMemory improvement is possible: Contrary to accepted belief, you can develop and enhance your cognitive ability at any stage in life. Homo sapiens are extraordinary. Our brains are organs that can be exercised and improved just like our muscles. In Smarter Next Year Dr. David Bardsley presents the latest scientific information about brain plasticity and offers eight mind hacking tips for increasing intelligence at any age whether you are 5, 55 or 105.Your genes do not control your destiny: For many people, mild cognitive impairment is a symptom of the aging process. It may be more difficult to remember things that used to come easily to you. You may lose things often, forget names, appointments, or have "senior moments" more frequently.Reverse the trend of cognitive loss: David Bardsley noticed cognitive loss symptoms in himself years ago. His revelation came in a supermarket after an embarrassing memory lapse at checkout. In childhood, Bardsley had been misdiagnosed with intellectual disabilities and the experience changed him. What if he could take his mental health into his own hands now? In Smarter Next Year Bardsley uses the latest techniques from cognitive psychology and neuroscience to show you how reverse the trend of cognitive slow down.In this revolutionary book, you will learn:Which factors improve intelligence and how they can be accelerated.The underlying causes of mild cognitive impairment.What you can do TODAY to feel younger, think faster and be smarter tomorrow. Take control and learn how to experience memory and mental improvement with Dr. Bardsley's Smarter Next Year.

Recommended

Stumbling on Happiness, Daniel Gilbert
Stumbling on Happiness
by Daniel Gilbert

A smart and funny book by a prominent Harvard psychologist, which uses groundbreaking research and (often hilarious) anecdotes to show us why we’re so lousy at predicting what will make us happy – and what we can do about it.Most of us s...

Narrator: Daniel Gilbert
Published: 05/02/2006

The Art of Thinking Clearly, Rolf Dobelli
The Art of Thinking Clearly
by Rolf Dobelli

Have you ever . . .Invested time in something that, in hindsight, just wasn't worth it?Paid too much in an eBay auction?Continued to do something you knew was bad for you?Sold stocks too late, or too early?Taken credit for success, but blamed failu...

Narrator: Eric Conger
Published: 05/14/2013

The Knowledge Illusion Why We Never Think Alone, Steven Sloman
The Knowledge Illusion
by Steven Sloman

“The Knowledge Illusion is filled with insights on how we should deal with our individual ignorance and collective wisdom.” —Steven PinkerWe all think we know more than we actually do.  Humans have built hugely complex societ...

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 03/14/2017

Why We Make Mistakes How We Look Without Seeing, Forget Things in Seconds, and Are All Pretty Sure We Are Way Above Average, Joseph T. Hallinan
Why We Make Mistakes
by Joseph T. Hallinan

We forget our passwords. We pay too much to go to the gym. We think we’d be happier if we lived in California (we wouldn’t), and we think we should stick with our first answer on tests (we shouldn’t). Why do we make mistakes? And c...

Narrator: Marc Cashman
Published: 02/17/2009

The Biology of Desire Why Addiction Is Not a Disease, Marc Lewis
The Biology of Desire
by Marc Lewis

Through the vivid, true stories of five people who journeyed into and out of addiction, a renowned neuroscientist explains why the "disease model" of addiction is wrong and illuminates the path to recovery. The psychiatric establishment and rehab i...

Narrator: Don Hagen
Published: 08/01/2015

Thinking, Fast and Slow, Daniel Kahneman
Thinking, Fast and Slow
by Daniel Kahneman

The guru to the gurus at last shares his knowledge with the rest of us. Nobel laureate Daniel Kahneman's seminal studies in behavioral psychology, behavioral economics, and happiness studies have influenced numerous other authors, including Steven P...

Narrator: Patrick Egan
Published: 10/25/2011

How We Learn The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens, Benedict Carey
How We Learn
by Benedict Carey

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, ...

Narrator: Steve Kramer
Published: 09/09/2014

The Anxiety Toolkit Strategies for Fine-Tuning Your Mind and Moving Past Your Stuck Points, Alice Boyes
The Anxiety Toolkit
by Alice Boyes

Do you overthink before taking action? Are you prone to making negative predictions? Do you worry about the worst that could happen? Do you take negative feedback very hard? Are you self-critical? Does anything less than perfect performance feel lik...

Narrator: Karen Saltus
Published: 05/01/2015

The Organized Mind How to Put Things in Place, Focus on What Matters, and Live Well, Daniel J. Levitin
The Organized Mind
by Daniel J. Levitin

New York Times bestselling author and neuroscientist Daniel J. Levitin shifts his keen insights from your brain on music to your brain in a sea of details.The information age is drowning us with an unprecedented deluge of data. At the same time, we&...

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 08/19/2014

The Marshmallow Test Mastering Self-Control, Walter Mischel
The Marshmallow Test
by Walter Mischel

Renowned psychologist Walter Mischel, designer of the famous Marshmallow Test, explains what self-control is and how to master it.A child is presented with a marshmallow and given a choice: Eat this one now, or wait and enjoy two later. What will sh...

Narrator: Alan Alda
Published: 09/23/2014
{"id":"2875516","ean":"9781721333370","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Smarter Next Year: The Revolutionary Science for a Smarter, Happier You","subtitle":"The Revolutionary Science for a Smarter, Happier You","author":"Dr. David Bardsley","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Tom Parks","ubr_id":"2875516","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"9.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"6.49","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Tom Parks","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 2 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}