Zeke And Ned, Larry McMurtry
  • List: $26.95  |  Sale: $18.86
    Club: $13.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Zeke And Ned

Author: Larry McMurtry, Diana Ossana

Narrator: Barrett Whitener

Unabridged: 15 hr 14 min

Format: Digital Audiobook (DRM Protected)

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 01/01/1997

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

In Zeke and Ned, Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana have created an American masterpiece: funny, exuberant, compelling, violent, and tragic. Set in the Cherokee Nation not Jong after the Civil War, Zeke and Ned is the story of Ezekiel Proctor and Ned Christie, the last Cherokee warriors, living men whose story is not merely legend, but history -- their fates a consequence of the brutal policies which produced the Trail of Tears. As a child, Zeke Proctor walked the Trail of Tears from Georgia to the Indian Territory west of Arkansas, acquiring through that bitter struggle a fierce loyalty to the Cherokee way. Though a family man and a respected member of the Cherokee Senate, Zeke the man is an adventurous charmer, with a family roving eye. Ned Christie is tall and charismatic, with waist-length hair and a high-cheekboned handsomeness, that appeals to women all over the Going Snake District. But Ned's heart is set on one woman: Jewel Sixkiller Proctor, Zeke's beautiful young daughter. And Ned's long and determined resistance to the relentless pressure of white law unwittingly makes him a hero to the Cherokee people. Zeke and Ned is a powerful, affecting work dramatizing the long Cherokee struggle against white authority. It is, ultimately, a moving tale about love, honour, loyalty, heroism, and the human condition.

Recommended

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

The Fiery Cross, Diana Gabaldon
The Fiery Cross
by Diana Gabaldon

The year is 1771. Claire Randall is still an outlander, out of place and out of time. But now she is linked by love to her only anchor--Jamie Fraser. They have crossed oceans and centuries to build a life together in North Carolina. But tensions, bo...

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 05/04/2002

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018
{"id":"499834","ean":"9780743573078","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Zeke And Ned","subtitle":"","author":"Larry McMurtry","rating_average":"3.5","narrator":"Barrett Whitener","ubr_id":"499834","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.17","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Barrett Whitener","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 15 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}