We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists, Melissa Falkowski
  • List: $18.00  |  Sale: $12.60
    Club: $9.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists

Author: Melissa Falkowski, Eric Garner

Narrator: Various

Unabridged: 5 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio

Published: 10/02/2018

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction - Biography & Autobiography - Social Activists

Includes: Bonus PDF

Ages: 14 - UP

Synopsis

A journalistic look at the shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland and the fight for gun control--as told by the student reporters for the school's newspaper and TV station.

This timely and media-driven approach to the Parkland shooting, as reported by teens in the journalism and broadcasting programs and in the Marjory Stoneman Douglas newspaper, is an inside look at that tragic day and the events that followed that only they could tell.

It showcases how the teens have become media savvy and the skills they have learned and honed--harnessing social media, speaking to the press, and writing effective op-eds. Students will also share specific insight into what it has been like being approached by the press and how that has informed the way they interview their own subjects.


Read by Melissa Falkowski, Eric Garner, and the Parkland Student Journalists: Suzanna Barna, Chris Cahill, Nyan Clarke, Einav Cohen, Daniel Cuervo, Ryan Deitsch, Richard Doan, Abby Dowd, Brianna Fisher, Zoe Gordon, Augustus Griffith, Jr., Sam Grizelj, David Hogg, Daniella Infantino, Zakari Kostzer, Jordyn Laudanno, Christy Ma, Lewis Mizen, Lauren Newman, Nikhita Nookala, Carly Novell, Andy Pedroza, Josh Riemer, Carlitos Rodriguez, Dara Rosen, Rebecca Schneid, Leni Steinhardt, Delaney Tarr, Kevin Trejos, and Daniel Williams


"One thing is clear: The Parkland students are smart, media savvy, and here to fight for common sense gun laws." --Hello Giggles

Recommended

Sabina In the Eye of the Storm, Bella Kuligowska Zucker
Sabina
by Bella Kuligowska Zucker

This is the memoir written by Bella Kuligowska Zucker, the only person in her family to survive the Holocaust. In September 1939, Bella was a carefree teenager living in Poland when the German army struck. She was rounded up with her friends and fam...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 05/31/2019

Fierce How Competing for Myself Changed Everything, Aly Raisman
Fierce
by Aly Raisman

Discover Aly Raisman's inspiring story of dedication, perseverance, and learning to think positive even in the toughest times on her path to gold medal success in two Olympic Games--and beyond. Aly Raisman first stepped onto a gymnastics mat as a t...

Narrator: Natalie Roy Camargo
Published: 11/14/2017

Courage to Soar A Body in Motion, A Life in Balance, Simone Biles
Courage to Soar
by Simone Biles

Simone Biles’ entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a...

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 11/15/2016

Bad Boy, Walter Dean Myers
Bad Boy
by Walter Dean Myers

Into a memoir that is gripping, funny, heartbreaking, and unforgettable, Walter Dean Myers richly weaves the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s and 1950s: a loving home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the vi...

Narrator: Joe Morton
Published: 02/22/2005

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Bernie Sanders
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nation’s status quo, and shows you how to make a difference to e...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Hole In My Life, Jack Gantos
Hole In My Life
by Jack Gantos

In the summer of 1971, Jack Gantos was an aspiring writer desperate for adventure, college cash, and a way out of a dead-end job. For ten thousand dollars, he recklessly agreed to help sail a sixty-foot yacht loaded with hashish from the Virgin Isla...

Narrator: Jack Gantos
Published: 07/22/2003

Being Jazz My Life as a (Transgender) Teen, Jazz Jennings
Being Jazz
by Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while th...

Narrator: Jazz Jennings
Published: 06/07/2016

Discovering Wes Moore, Wes Moore
Discovering Wes Moore
by Wes Moore

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turn...

Narrator: Wes Moore
Published: 06/11/2013

Hidden Girl The True Story of a Modern-Day Child Slave, Shyima Hall
Hidden Girl
by Shyima Hall

Shyima Hall was born in Egypt on September 29, 1989, the seventh child of desperately poor parents. When she was eight, her parents sold her into slavery. Shyima then moved two hours away to Egypt's capitol city of Cairo to live with a wealthy famil...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 06/25/2014
{"id":"2450776","ean":"9781984843418","abr":"Unabridged","title":"We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists","subtitle":"","author":"Melissa Falkowski","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Various","ubr_id":"2450776","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.70","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Various","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}