Warriors Don't Cry: A Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock's Central High A Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock's Central High, Melba Pattillo Beals
  • List: $20.49  |  Sale: $14.34
    Club: $10.24
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Warriors Don't Cry: A Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock's Central High

Author: Melba Pattillo Beals

Narrator: Lisa Renee Pitts

Unabridged: 11 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook (DRM Protected)

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 11/14/2011

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Ages: 12 - 17

Synopsis

The landmark 1954 Supreme Court ruling, Brown v. Board of Education, brought the promise of integration to Little Rock, Arkansas, but it was hard-won for the nine black teenagers chosen to integrate Central High School in 1957. They ran a gauntlet flanked by a rampaging mob and a heavily armed Arkansas National Guard—opposition so intense that soldiers from the elite 101st Airborne Division were called in to restore order. For Melba Beals and her eight friends those steps marked their transformation into reluctant warriors—on a battlefield that helped shape the civil rights movement.Warriors Don't Cry, drawn from Melba Beals's personal diaries, is a riveting true account of her junior year at Central High—one filled with telephone threats, brigades of attacking mothers, rogue police, fireball and acid-throwing attacks, economic blackmail, and, finally, a price upon Melba's head. With the help of her English-teacher mother; her eight fellow warriors; and her gun-toting, Bible-and-Shakespeare-loving grandmother, Melba survived. And, incredibly, from a year that would hold no sweet-sixteen parties or school plays, Melba Beals emerged with indestructible faith, courage, strength, and hope.

Recommended

Eat, Pray, Love One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, Elizabeth Gilbert
Eat, Pray, Love
by Elizabeth Gilbert

A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers a...

Narrator: Elizabeth Gilbert
Published: 02/16/2006

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
by Amy Schumer

“Amy’s got your back. She’s in your corner. She’s an honesty bomb. And she’s coming for you.” —Actress Tilda Swinton and Trainwreck co-star The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Insi...

Narrator: Amy Schumer
Published: 08/16/2016

When Breath Becomes Air, Paul Kalanithi
When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as a...

Narrator: Abraham Verghese
Published: 01/19/2016

Scrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick
Scrappy Little Nobody
by Anna Kendrick

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.“I’m excited to publish my first book, and because I get uncomfortable when people have high expectations...

Narrator: Anna Kendrick
Published: 11/15/2016

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States   In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of...

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight
Shoe Dog
by Phil Knight

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s...

Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz
Published: 04/26/2016

Wild From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, Cheryl Strayed
Wild
by Cheryl Strayed

Oprah's Book Club 2.0 selection.A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again. At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought s...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 03/20/2012

We're Going to Need More Wine Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True, Gabrielle Union
We're Going to Need More Wine
by Gabrielle Union

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNominated for the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary WorkNamed a Best Book of the Year by The RootChosen by Emma Straub as a Best New Celebrity Memoir“A book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever prod...

Narrator: Gabrielle Union
Published: 10/17/2017
{"id":"242272","ean":"9781452674940","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Warriors Don't Cry: A Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock's Central High","subtitle":"A Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock's Central High","author":"Melba Pattillo Beals","rating_average":"4.36","narrator":"Lisa Renee Pitts","ubr_id":"242272","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.49","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.29","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Lisa Renee Pitts","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}