Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Author: Hector Macdonald

Narrator: Robert Fass

Unabridged: 9 hr 34 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 03/06/2018

Genre: Business & Economics - Business Communication

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

"In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl SandbergFor fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.True or false? It's rarely that simple.There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we communicate we naturally select the truths that are most helpful to our agenda.We can select truths constructively to inspire organizations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill.In Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. He shows how a clearer understanding of truth's many faces renders us better able to navigate our world and more influential within it. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny, and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

Recommended

Talk Like TED The 9 Public Speaking Secrets of the World's Top Minds, Carmine Gallo
Talk Like TED
by Carmine Gallo

Ideas are the currency of the twenty-first century. In order to succeed, you need to be able to sell your ideas persuasively. This ability is the single greatest skill that will help you accomplish your dreams. Many people have a fear of public spea...

Narrator: Carmine Gallo
Published: 03/04/2014

Made to Stick Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die, Chip Heath
Made to Stick
by Chip Heath

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The instant classic about why some ideas thrive, why others die, and how to improve your idea’s chances—essential reading in the “fake news” era.   Mark Twain once observed, &ld...

Narrator: Charles Kahlenberg
Published: 01/09/2007

Dale Carnegie & Associates' Listen! The Art of Effective Communication, DALE CARNEGIE & ASSOCIATES
Dale Carnegie & Associates' Listen!
by DALE CARNEGIE & ASSOCIATES

Why do we so often fail to connect when speaking with business colleagues, family members, or friends? Wouldn't you like to make yourself heard and understood in all of your relationships? Using vivid examples, easy-to-learn techniques, and practica...

Narrator: Dan Strutzel
Published: 03/28/2017

TED Talks The Official TED Guide to Public Speaking, Chris Anderson
TED Talks
by Chris Anderson

"Catnip for all the TED fans out there." —Publishers Weekly"Unimpeachably practical . . . A handy guide for novice and moderately experienced speakers." —Kirkus Reviews"Anderson shares the secrets behind the best TED presentations." R...

Narrator: Chris Anderson
Published: 05/03/2016

Working with Difficult People, Second Revised Edition Handling the Ten Types of Problem People Without Losing Your Mind, Amy Cooper Hakim
Working with Difficult People, Second Revised Edition
by Amy Cooper Hakim

A revised edition of the classic guide on how to best resolve conflict in today's technologically advanced workplace. Your work day is filled with them--people who frustrate, impede, maneuver, undermine, plot, connive, and whine. This indispensable...

Narrator: Karen Saltus
Published: 02/01/2017

How to Talk to Anyone 92 Little Tricks for Big Success in Relationships, Leil Lowndes
How to Talk to Anyone
by Leil Lowndes

"You'll not only break the ice, you'll melt it away with your new skills." -- Larry King"The lost art of verbal communication may be revitalized by Leil Lowndes." -- Harvey McKay, author of “How to Swim with the Sharks Without Being Eaten Aliv...

Narrator: Joyce Bean
Published: 09/01/2015

Leading Change, John Kotter
Leading Change
by John Kotter

John Kotter, the world's foremost expert on business leadership, distills twenty-five years of experience into Leading Change. A must-have for any organization, this visionary and very personal audiobook is at once inspiring, clear-headed, and fille...

Narrator: Oliver Wyman
Published: 08/21/2007

The Power of Storytelling Captivate, Convince, or Convert Any Business Audience Using Stories from Top CEOs, Jim Holtje
The Power of Storytelling
by Jim Holtje

A guide to crafting unforgettable, attention-grabbing business communications - from speeches and letters to business plans - using stories from the world's top business leaders. The world's foremost business leaders are also great storytellers. Fo...

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 12/19/2011

The Storyteller's Secret From TED Speakers to Business Legends, Why Some Ideas Catch On and Others Don't, Carmine Gallo
The Storyteller's Secret
by Carmine Gallo

How did a Venice Beach T-shirt vendor become television's most successful producer? How did an entrepreneur who started in a garage create the most iconic product launches in business history? How did a timid pastor's son overcome a paralyzing fear ...

Narrator: Carmine Gallo
Published: 02/23/2016
{"id":"2065180","ean":"9781478992318","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality","subtitle":"How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality","author":"Hector Macdonald","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Robert Fass","ubr_id":"2065180","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert Fass","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}