Truth
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49

    Club: $12.49

    • facebook
    • Twitter
    • googleplus
    • pinterest

Details

Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Author: Hector Macdonald

Narrator: Robert Fass

Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 03/06/2018

Genre: Business & Economics - Business Communication

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

"In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl SandbergFor fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.True or false? It's rarely that simple.There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we communicate we naturally select the truths that are most helpful to our agenda.We can select truths constructively to inspire organizations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill.In Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. He shows how a clearer understanding of truth's many faces renders us better able to navigate our world and more influential within it. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny, and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

Recommended

Make Your Idea Matter
by Bernadette Jiwa

Make Your Idea Matter is a call to action for entrepreneurs, emerging brands and anyone with a great idea, who knows that to stand out in today's noisy world they need to tell a better story. It is full of bite-sized business and brand storytelling...

Narrator: Author
Published: 12/18/2012

The Heart of Change
by John Kotter

John Kotter's international bestseller Leading Change struck a powerful chord with legions of managers everywhere. It acknowledged the cynicism, pain, and fear they faced in implementing large-scale changea€”but also armed them with an ei...

Narrator: Oliver Wyman
Published: 02/19/2008

Talk Like TED
by Carmine Gallo

Ideas are the currency of the twenty-first century. In order to succeed, you need to be able to sell your ideas persuasively. This ability is the single greatest skill that will help you accomplish your dreams. Many people have a fear of public spea...

Narrator: Carmine Gallo
Published: 03/04/2014

TED Talks
by Chris Anderson

"Catnip for all the TED fans out there." —Publishers Weekly"Unimpeachably practical . . . A handy guide for novice and moderately experienced speakers." —Kirkus Reviews"Anderson shares the secrets behind the best TED presentations." R...

Narrator: Chris Anderson
Published: 05/03/2016

The Fifth Discipline
by Peter M. Senge

Senge's best-selling The Fifth Discipline led Business Week to dub him the "new guru" of the corporate world; here he offers executives a step-by-step guide to building "learning organizations" of their own.

Narrator: Peter M. Senge
Published: 07/05/2000

The Rational Optimist
by Matt Ridley

“Ridley writes with panache, wit, and humor and displays remarkable ingenuity in finding ways to present complicated materials for the lay reader.” — Los Angeles Times In a bold and provocative interpretation of economic history, M...

Narrator: L.J. Ganser
Published: 05/18/2010

Made to Stick
by Chip Heath

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The instant classic about why some ideas thrive, why others die, and how to improve your idea’s chances—essential reading in the “fake news” era.   Mark Twain once observed, &ld...

Narrator: Charles Kahlenberg
Published: 01/09/2007

How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide On Speed Reading People, Analysis Of Body Language, Personality Types And Human Psychology; Learn How To Understand Behaviour And Read Peoples Minds
by Adam Brown

Learning how to analyze people and their personalities can do wonders for your relationships. Whether it’s your coworker, your significant, your family, or even a complete stranger, you will always know exactly how to respond in the best possi...

Narrator: Nick Dolle
Published: 05/25/2018

The Storyteller's Secret
by Carmine Gallo

How did a Venice Beach T-shirt vendor become television's most successful producer? How did an entrepreneur who started in a garage create the most iconic product launches in business history? How did a timid pastor's son overcome a paralyzing fear ...

Narrator: Carmine Gallo
Published: 02/23/2016
{"id":"2065180","ean":"9781478992318","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality","subtitle":"How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality","author":"Hector Macdonald","rating_average":"0.00","narrator":"Robert Fass","ubr_id":"2065180","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert Fass","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}