This Census-Taker, China Mieville
  • List: $15.00  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

This Census-Taker

Author: China Mieville

Narrator: Matthew Frow

Unabridged: 4 hr 2 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/05/2016

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy - Contemporary

Synopsis

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.

When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.

But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?

Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.

Praise for This Census-Taker

“China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it’s like he’s writing with diamonds.”—NPR

“The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.”—Los Angeles Review of Books

“[Mieville’s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.”—The Huffington Post

“Marvellous.”—The Guardian

“Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.”—Financial Times

“A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.”—Booklist

“Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.”—Kirkus Reviews

Recommended

Into the Drowning Deep, Mira Grant
Into the Drowning Deep
by Mira Grant

New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant, author of the renowned Newsflesh series, returns with a novel that takes us to a new world of ancient mysteries and mythological dangers come to life. The ocean is home to many myths, But some are dea...

Narrator: Christine Lakin
Published: 11/14/2017

American Gods: The Tenth Anniversary Edition Full Cast Production, Neil Gaiman
American Gods: The Tenth Anniversary Edition
by Neil Gaiman

Now a STARZ® Original Series produced by FremantleMedia North America starring Ricky Whittle, Ian McShane, Emily Browning, and Pablo Schreiber.Locked behind bars for three years, Shadow did his time, quietly waiting for the day when he could r...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 06/21/2011

Spell or High Water, Scott Meyer
Spell or High Water
by Scott Meyer

The adventures of an American hacker in Medieval England continue as Martin Banks takes his next step on the journey toward mastering his reality-altering powers and fulfilling his destiny. A month has passed since Martin helped to defeat the evil p...

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 06/17/2014

Off to Be the Wizard, Scott Meyer
Off to Be the Wizard
by Scott Meyer

An io9 Can't Miss Science Fiction and Fantasy title in March 2014.Martin Banks is just a normal guy who has made an abnormal discovery: he can manipulate reality, thanks to reality being nothing more than a computer program. With every use of this a...

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 03/18/2014

Midnight Crossroad, Charlaine Harris
Midnight Crossroad
by Charlaine Harris

FIRST IN A NEW TRILOGY - From Charlaine Harris, the bestselling author who created Sookie Stackhouse and her world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, comes a darker locale-- populated by more strangers than friends. But then, that' s how the locals prefer it...

Narrator: Susan Bennett
Published: 05/02/2014

Trapped (The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book Five), Kevin Hearne
Trapped (The Iron Druid Chronicles, Book Five)
by Kevin Hearne

After twelve years of secret training, Atticus O’Sullivan is finally ready to bind his apprentice, Granuaile, to the earth and double the number of Druids in the world. But on the eve of the ritual, the world that thought he was dead abruptly ...

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 11/27/2012

Anansi Boys, Neil Gaiman
Anansi Boys
by Neil Gaiman

In this #1 New York Times bestseller, Neil Gaiman returns to the territory of his masterpiece, American Gods (soon to be a Starz Original Series) to once again probe the dark recesses of the soul.God is dead. Meet the kids.Fat Charlie Nancy’s...

Narrator: Lenny Henry
Published: 09/20/2005

Night Broken, Patricia Briggs
Night Broken
by Patricia Briggs

“These are fantastic adventures, and Mercy reigns.” —SFRevu#1 New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs’s Mercy Thompson series has been hailed as “one of the best” (Fiction Vixen Book Reviews). Now Mercy ...

Narrator: Lorelei King
Published: 03/11/2014

American Gods, Neil Gaiman
American Gods
by Neil Gaiman

Now a STARZ® Original Series produced by FremantleMedia North America starring Ricky Whittle, Ian McShane, Emily Browning, and Pablo Schreiber.Locked behind bars for three years, Shadow did his time, quietly waiting for the day when he could r...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 11/11/2003
{"id":"1219145","ean":"9780399567254","abr":"Unabridged","title":"This Census-Taker","subtitle":"","author":"China Mieville","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Matthew Frow","ubr_id":"1219145","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.75","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Matthew Frow","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}