This Census-Taker, China Mieville
  • List: $15.00  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

This Census-Taker

Author: China Mieville

Narrator: Matthew Frow

Unabridged: 4 hr 2 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/05/2016

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy - Contemporary

Synopsis

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR

In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape.

When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over.

But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether?

Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity.

Praise for This Census-Taker

“China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it’s like he’s writing with diamonds.”—NPR

“The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.”—Los Angeles Review of Books

“[Mieville’s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.”—The Huffington Post

“Marvellous.”—The Guardian

“Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.”—Financial Times

“A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.”—Booklist

“Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.”—Kirkus Reviews

Recommended

Scourged, Kevin Hearne
Scourged
by Kevin Hearne

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 04/03/2018

Dead Until Dark, Charlaine Harris
Dead Until Dark
by Charlaine Harris

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Johanna Parker
Published: 09/12/2007

American Gods: The Tenth Anniversary Edition Full Cast Production, Neil Gaiman
American Gods: The Tenth Anniversary ...
by Neil Gaiman

List: $36.99

Sale: $25.90

Club: $18.49

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 06/21/2011

Staked, Kevin Hearne
Staked
by Kevin Hearne

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 01/26/2016

Midnight Crossroad, Charlaine Harris
Midnight Crossroad
by Charlaine Harris

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Susan Bennett
Published: 05/02/2014

Off to Be the Wizard, Scott Meyer
Off to Be the Wizard
by Scott Meyer

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 03/18/2014

Anansi Boys, Neil Gaiman
Anansi Boys
by Neil Gaiman

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Lenny Henry
Published: 09/20/2005

Into the Drowning Deep, Mira Grant
Into the Drowning Deep
by Mira Grant

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Christine Lakin
Published: 11/14/2017

American Gods, Neil Gaiman
American Gods
by Neil Gaiman

List: $36.99

Sale: $25.90

Club: $18.49

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 11/11/2003
{"id":"1219145","ean":"9780399567254","abr":"Unabridged","title":"This Census-Taker","subtitle":"","author":"China Mieville","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Matthew Frow","ubr_id":"1219145","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.75","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Matthew Frow","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}