Things in Jars: A Novel, Jess Kidd
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club Sale: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Things in Jars: A Novel

Author: Jess Kidd

Narrator: Jacqueline Milne

Unabridged: 11 hr 29 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 02/04/2020

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

A January Book of the Month Pick “Miraculous and thrilling…A few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written.” —Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River “An impossible wonder: a book for everyone, and yet somehow a book just for you...A sumptuous tour of Victorian London, resurrected here with a vigor and vibrancy to rival The Crimson Petal and the White...Utterly magical.”—A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window “A perfect mix of hilarity, the macabre, and a touch of romance, Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining, all as it sneaks up and makes you feel things…Simply: Jess Kidd is so good it isn’t fair.” —Erika Swyler, bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.Bridie Devine—female detective extraordinaire—is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery. Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems. Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

Recommended

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars. A Novel, Joyce Carol Oates
Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars.
by Joyce Carol Oates

List: $48.99

Sale: $34.30

Club: $24.49

Narrator: Cheryl Smith
Published: 06/09/2020

The End of the Ocean A Novel, Maja Lunde
The End of the Ocean
by Maja Lunde

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Jane Copland
Published: 01/14/2020

Olive, Again A Novel, Elizabeth Strout
Olive, Again
by Elizabeth Strout

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Published: 10/15/2019

My Dark Vanessa A Novel, Kate Elizabeth Russell
My Dark Vanessa
by Kate Elizabeth Russell

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Grace Gummer
Published: 03/10/2020

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

Such a Fun Age, Kiley Reid
Such a Fun Age
by Kiley Reid

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Nicole Lewis
Published: 12/31/2019

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Heap A Novel, Sean Adams
The Heap
by Sean Adams

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: David Sadzin
Published: 01/07/2020

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015
{"id":"3707280","ean":"9781508299479","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Things in Jars: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Jess Kidd","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Jacqueline Milne","ubr_id":"3707280","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jacqueline Milne","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 29 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}