• Regular: $29.95

    Sale: $20.97 (30% Off)

    Club: $14.97

Details

The Zookeepers Wife: A War Story

Author: Diane Ackerman

Narrator: Suzanne Toren

Unabridged: 10 hr 40 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 01/01/2007

Genre: History - Holocaust

Synopsis

Jan and Antonina Zabinski were Polish Christian zookeepers horrified by Nazi racism, who managed to save over three hundred people. Yet their story has fallen between the seams of history.Drawing on Antoninas diary and other historical sources, bestselling naturalist Diane Ackerman vividly re-creates Antoninas life as the zookeepers wife, responsible for her own family, the zoo animals, and their guests: resistance activists and refugee Jews, many of whom Jan had smuggled from the Warsaw Ghetto.Jan led a cell of saboteurs, and the Zabinskis young son risked his life carrying food to the guests, while also tending to an eccentric array of creatures in the house (pigs, hare, muskrat, foxes, and more). With hidden people having animal names, and pet animals having human names, its a small wonder the zoos code name became The House under a Crazy Star. Yet there is more to this story than a colorful cast. With her exquisite sensitivity to the natural world, Ackerman explores the role of nature in both kindness and savagery, and she unravels the fascinating and disturbing obsession at the core of Nazism: both a worship of nature and its violation, as humans sought to control the genome of the entire planet.

Recommended

The Last Jew of Treblinka
by Chil Rajchman

Quickly becoming a cornerstone of Holocaust historiography, this is a devastatingly stark memoir from one of the lone survivors of Treblinka.Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girlsin the gas chambers of ...

Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki
Published: 07/04/2017

Born Survivors
by Wendy Holden

The Nazis murdered their husbands but concentration camp prisoners Priska, Rachel, and Anka would not let evil take their unborn children too—a remarkable true story that will appeal to readers of The Lost and The Nazi Officer's Wife, Born Sur...

Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley
Published: 01/31/2017

East West Street
by Philippe Sands

When human rights lawyer Philippe Sands received an invitation to deliver a lecture in the western Ukrainian city of Lviv, he began to uncover a series of extraordinary historical coincidences. It set him on a quest that would take him halfway aroun...

Narrator: Philippe Sands; David Rintoul
Published: 05/24/2016

Irena's Children
by Tilar J. Mazzeo

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Widow Clicquot comes an extraordinary and gripping true account of Irena Sendler—the “female Oskar Schindler”—who took staggering risks to save 2,500 children from death and d...

Narrator: Amanda Carlin
Published: 09/27/2016

In the Garden of Beasts
by Erik Larson

“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review  Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the bes...

Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Published: 05/10/2011

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
by Anne Frank

Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit.In 1942, with N...

Narrator: Selma Blair
Published: 05/25/2010

The Book Thieves
by Anders Rydell

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return ...

Narrator: Henning Koch
Published: 02/07/2017

Anne Frank's Tales from the Secret Annex
by Anne Frank

The candid, poignant, unforgettable writing of the young girl whose own life story has become an everlasting source of courage and inspiration.Hiding from the Nazis in the “Secret Annex” of an old office building in Amsterdam, a thirteen...

Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Published: 03/23/2010

Death in the City of Light
by David King

The gripping, true story of a brutal serial killer who unleashed his own reign of terror in Nazi-Occupied Paris. As decapitated heads and dismembered body parts surfaced in the Seine, Commissaire Georges-Victor Massu, head of the Brigade Criminelle,...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 09/20/2011
{"id":"873974","ean":"9781602834934","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Zookeepers Wife: A War Story","subtitle":"A War Story","author":"Diane Ackerman","rating_average":"4.00","narrator":"Suzanne Toren","ubr_id":"873974","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.47","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Suzanne Toren","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}