• Regular: $29.95

    Sale: $20.97 (30% Off)

    Club: $14.97

Details

The Zookeepers Wife: A War Story

Author: Diane Ackerman

Narrator: Suzanne Toren

Unabridged: 10 hr 40 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 01/01/2007

Genre: History - Holocaust

Synopsis

Jan and Antonina Zabinski were Polish Christian zookeepers horrified by Nazi racism, who managed to save over three hundred people. Yet their story has fallen between the seams of history.Drawing on Antoninas diary and other historical sources, bestselling naturalist Diane Ackerman vividly re-creates Antoninas life as the zookeepers wife, responsible for her own family, the zoo animals, and their guests: resistance activists and refugee Jews, many of whom Jan had smuggled from the Warsaw Ghetto.Jan led a cell of saboteurs, and the Zabinskis young son risked his life carrying food to the guests, while also tending to an eccentric array of creatures in the house (pigs, hare, muskrat, foxes, and more). With hidden people having animal names, and pet animals having human names, its a small wonder the zoos code name became The House under a Crazy Star. Yet there is more to this story than a colorful cast. With her exquisite sensitivity to the natural world, Ackerman explores the role of nature in both kindness and savagery, and she unravels the fascinating and disturbing obsession at the core of Nazism: both a worship of nature and its violation, as humans sought to control the genome of the entire planet.

Recommended

The Book Thieves
by Anders Rydell

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return ...

Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Published: 02/07/2017

Irena's Children
by Tilar J. Mazzeo

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Widow Clicquot comes an extraordinary and gripping true account of Irena Sendler—the “female Oskar Schindler”—who took staggering risks to save 2,500 children from death and d...

Narrator: Amanda Carlin
Published: 09/27/2016

Anne Frank's Tales from the Secret Annex
by Anne Frank

Annelies Marie Frank was born on June 12, 1929, in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. Anne and her family were persecuted alongside millions of Jews prior to and during World War II for their faith.  It was during this period on her 13th birthday that...

Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Published: 03/23/2010

East West Street
by Philippe Sands

When human rights lawyer Philippe Sands received an invitation to deliver a lecture in the western Ukrainian city of Lviv, he began to uncover a series of extraordinary historical coincidences. It set him on a quest that would take him halfway aroun...

Narrator: Philippe Sands; David Rintoul
Published: 05/24/2016

The Last Jew of Treblinka
by Chil Rajchman

Quickly becoming a cornerstone of Holocaust historiography, this is a devastatingly stark memoir from one of the lone survivors of Treblinka.Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girlsin the gas chambers of ...

Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki
Published: 07/04/2017

In the Garden of Beasts
by Erik Larson

ERIK LARSON is the author of the national bestsellers Thunderstruck, The Devil in the White City, and Isaac's Storm. ErikLarsonBooks.comFrom the Hardcover edition.

Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Published: 05/10/2011

Nazi Terror
by Eric A. Johnson

Who were the Gestapo officers? Were they merely banal paper shufflers, or were they recognizably evil? Were they motivated by an eliminationist antiSemitism? Did the average German know about the mass murder of Jews and other undesirables while they...

Narrator: Edward Lewis
Published: 03/03/2011

Death in the City of Light
by David King

David King is the New York Times best-selling author of Death in the City of Light and Vienna 1814. A Fulbright Scholar with a master’s degree from Cambridge University, King taught European history at the University of Kentucky. His book...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 09/20/2011

Treasures from the Attic
by Mirjam Pressler

An old lady, an antiques dealer, dies in Basel, Switzerland. Her devoted daughter-in-law finally steels herself to do what all families must in the aftermath of a death—she heads upstairs to the attic to sort through the old lady's effects. Bu...

Narrator: Sherry Adams Foster
Published: 04/19/2011
{"id":"873974","ean":"9781602834934","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Zookeepers Wife: A War Story","subtitle":"A War Story","author":"Diane Ackerman","rating_average":"4.00","narrator":"Suzanne Toren","ubr_id":"873974","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.47","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Suzanne Toren","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}