The Whole Town's Talking, Fannie Flagg
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Whole Town's Talking

Author: Fannie Flagg

Narrator: Kimberly Farr

Unabridged: 12 hr 7 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 11/29/2016

Genre: Fiction - Contemporary Women

Synopsis

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

New York Times Bestseller • Southern Book Prize Winner

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

Praise for The Whole Town’s Talking

“A witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times.”—People
 
“Fannie Flagg at her best.”—The Florida Times-Union
 
“If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Brilliant . . . equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.”—The Newport Plain Talk
 
“Delightful.”—The Washington Post
 
“A ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

Recommended

The Nightingale, Kristin Hannah
The Nightingale
by Kristin Hannah

In love we find out who we want to be.In war we find out who we are.FRANCE, 1939In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn't believe that the Nazis will invade France...

Narrator: Polly Stone
Published: 02/03/2015

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, Gail Honeyman
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
by Gail Honeyman

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick“Beautifully written and incredibly funny, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is about the importance of friendship and human connection. I fell in love with Eleanor, an ...

Narrator: Cathleen McCarron
Published: 05/09/2017

The Great Alone, Kristin Hannah
The Great Alone
by Kristin Hannah

*The #1 New York Times bestseller*The newest audiobook sensation from Kristin Hannah, bestselling author of The Nightingale.This program is read by acclaimed narrator Julia Whelan, whose enchanting voice brought Gone Girl and Fates and Furies to lif...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 02/06/2018

Me Before You, Jojo Moyes
Me Before You
by Jojo Moyes

The New York Times bestseller, soon to be a major motion picture; US release on June 3, 2016.They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life&mdash...

Narrator: Various
Published: 12/31/2012

Small Great Things, Jodi Picoult
Small Great Things
by Jodi Picoult

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • With richly layered characters and a gripping moral dilemma that will lead readers to question everything they know about privilege, power, and race, Small Great Things is the stunning new page-turner from Jo...

Narrator: Audra McDonald
Published: 10/11/2016

Shelter in Place, Nora Roberts
Shelter in Place
by Nora Roberts

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts comes Shelter in Place―a powerful tale of heart, heroism…and propulsive suspense.It was a typical evening at a mall outside Portland, Maine. Three teenage friends waited for the movi...

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 05/29/2018

Big Little Lies, Liane Moriarty
Big Little Lies
by Liane Moriarty

The new novel from the author of The Husband’s Secret A #1 New York Times Bestseller  Sometimes it’s the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal.   A murder…A tragic accident…Or just parents behaving badly...

Narrator: Caroline Lee
Published: 07/29/2014

The Husband's Secret, Liane Moriarty
The Husband's Secret
by Liane Moriarty

From the author of the critically acclaimed What Alice Forgot comes a breakout new novel about the secrets husbands and wives keep from each other.Three women. One secret. And a letter that will change everything—forever.Tess. Rachel. Cecilia....

Narrator: Caroline Lee
Published: 07/30/2013

What Alice Forgot, Liane Moriarty
What Alice Forgot
by Liane Moriarty

What would happen if you were visited by your younger self, and got a chance for a do-over?Alice Love is twenty-nine years old, madly in love with her husband, and pregnant with their first child. So imagine her surprise when, after a fall, she come...

Narrator: Tamara Lovatt Smith
Published: 09/20/2011
{"id":"1478227","ean":"9780739354049","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Whole Town's Talking","subtitle":"","author":"Fannie Flagg","rating_average":"3.73","narrator":"Kimberly Farr","ubr_id":"1478227","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kimberly Farr","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}