The Storm, Arif Anwar
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Storm

Author: Arif Anwar

Narrator: Vikas Adam, Soneela Nankani

Unabridged: 9 hr 51 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 05/15/2018

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning fifty years of Bangladeshi history.Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family’s history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions. Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa’s story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anti-colonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India. With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm’s devastating path—leading to the eye’s calamitous landing—The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another.

Recommended

The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware
The Woman in Cabin 10
by Ruth Ware

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF IN A DARK, DARK WOOD Featured in TheSkimm An Entertainment Weekly “Summer Must List” Pick A New York Post “Summer Must-Read” Pick Included in Summer Book...

Narrator: Imogen Church
Published: 07/19/2016

Little Fires Everywhere, Celeste Ng
Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club PickThe runaway New York Times bestseller!Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & N...

Narrator: Jennifer Lim
Published: 09/12/2017

An American Marriage, Tayari Jones
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are rippe...

Narrator: Sean Crisden
Published: 02/06/2018

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

#1 New York Times BestsellerA Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review"Perfect for fa...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

Love and Summer, William Trevor
Love and Summer
by William Trevor

An author who has received international critical acclaim for his exquisite prose, William Trevor saw his novel The Story of Lucy Gault short-listed for the prestigious Booker Prize. Love and Summer tells the tale of Ellie Dillahan, an orphan ente...

Narrator: Jim Norton
Published: 02/22/2010

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American ReadHarper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the most ch...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture.   The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.   “Nothing is more addicting th...

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.Paulo Coelho’s masterpi...

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

The Help, Kathryn Stockett
The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

The #1 New York Times bestselling novel and basis for the Academy Award–winning film.   Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who's always taken orders quietly, but lately she's unable to hold her bitterness back. Her fri...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, Cassandra Campbell, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer
Published: 02/10/2009
{"id":"2196946","ean":"9781508257585","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Storm","subtitle":"","author":"Arif Anwar","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Vikas Adam","ubr_id":"2196946","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Vikas Adam","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}