The Storm, Arif Anwar
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Storm

Author: Arif Anwar

Narrator: Vikas Adam, Soneela Nankani

Unabridged: 9 hr 51 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 05/15/2018

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

In the tradition of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, a sweeping historical novel that seamlessly interweaves five love stories spanning fifty years of Bangladeshi history.Time is running out for Shahryar. His work visa has expired and he may soon be forced out of the United States and back to his home country of Bangladesh. Clinging to the remaining weeks he has left with his young American daughter, Shar reflects upon his family’s history, beginning in a village on the Bay of Bengal, where a poor fisherman, Jamir, and his wife, Honufa, prepare to face a storm of historic proportions. Spilling across tense, crucial moments in history, Jamir and Honufa’s story intersects with other lives, like that of Ichiro, a Japanese pilot fighting in a war he does not understand; Claire, a British doctor in danger during the anti-colonialist Burmese rebellions; and Rahim and Zahira, a privileged couple in Calcutta uprooted to East Pakistan by the Partition of India. With a narrative sweep mirroring the storm’s devastating path—leading to the eye’s calamitous landing—The Storm explores hope, loss, sacrifice, and the many ways in which families honor, betray, and ultimately love one another.

Recommended

My Dark Vanessa A Novel, Kate Elizabeth Russell
My Dark Vanessa
by Kate Elizabeth Russell

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Grace Gummer
Published: 03/10/2020

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

Olive, Again A Novel, Elizabeth Strout
Olive, Again
by Elizabeth Strout

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Published: 10/15/2019

City of Girls A Novel, Elizabeth Gilbert
City of Girls
by Elizabeth Gilbert

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Blair Brown
Published: 06/04/2019

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

Such a Fun Age, Kiley Reid
Such a Fun Age
by Kiley Reid

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Nicole Lewis
Published: 12/31/2019

The End of the Ocean A Novel, Maja Lunde
The End of the Ocean
by Maja Lunde

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Jane Copland
Published: 01/14/2020

The Heap A Novel, Sean Adams
The Heap
by Sean Adams

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: David Sadzin
Published: 01/07/2020
{"id":"2196946","ean":"9781508257585","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Storm","subtitle":"","author":"Arif Anwar","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Vikas Adam","ubr_id":"2196946","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Vikas Adam","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}