The Room on Rue Amelie, Kristin Harmel
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Room on Rue Amelie

Author: Kristin Harmel, Jacques Roy

Narrator: Madeleine Maby

Unabridged: 10 hr 7 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 03/27/2018

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can’t imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he’s really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting—and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis—and to open their own broken hearts—as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

Recommended

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

Outlander, Diana Gabaldon
Outlander
by Diana Gabaldon

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 03/30/2012

The Nickel Boys A Novel, Colson Whitehead
The Nickel Boys
by Colson Whitehead

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: JD Jackson
Published: 07/16/2019

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Huntress A Novel, Kate Quinn
The Huntress
by Kate Quinn

List: $42.99

Sale: $30.10

Club: $21.49

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 02/26/2019

The Alice Network, Kate Quinn
The Alice Network
by Kate Quinn

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/06/2017

Heads You Win, Jeffrey Archer
Heads You Win
by Jeffrey Archer

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 11/06/2018
{"id":"2106562","ean":"9781508254744","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Room on Rue Amelie","subtitle":"","author":"Kristin Harmel","rating_average":"4.21","narrator":"Madeleine Maby","ubr_id":"2106562","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Madeleine Maby","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 6 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}