The Poppy War, R. F. Kuang
  • List: $36.99  |  Sale: $25.90
    Club: $18.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Poppy War

Author: R. F. Kuang

Series: The Poppy War

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller

Unabridged: 18 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 05/01/2018

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy - Historical

Synopsis

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.But surprises aren’t always good.Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Recommended

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Susanna Clarke
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
by Susanna Clarke

List: $49.99

Sale: $35.00

Club: $24.99

Narrator: Simon Prebble
Published: 11/01/2004

Rise of Empire, Michael J. Sullivan
Rise of Empire
by Michael J. Sullivan

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 05/31/2012

Mexican Gothic, Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Mexican Gothic
by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Frankie Corzo
Published: 06/30/2020

Brilliance of the Moon Tales of the Otori Book Three, Lian Hearn
Brilliance of the Moon
by Lian Hearn

List: $25.87

Sale: $18.11

Club: $12.93

Narrator: Kevin Gray
Published: 06/03/2004

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, V. E. Schwab
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
by V. E. Schwab

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 10/06/2020

Across the Nightingale Floor Tales of the Otori Book One, Lian Hearn
Across the Nightingale Floor
by Lian Hearn

List: $25.87

Sale: $18.11

Club: $12.93

Narrator: Kevin Gray
Published: 07/18/2002

Black Leopard, Red Wolf, Marlon James
Black Leopard, Red Wolf
by Marlon James

List: $30.00

Sale: $21.00

Club: $15.00

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 02/05/2019

Death Doesn't Bargain A Deadman's Cross Novel, Sherrilyn Kenyon
Death Doesn't Bargain
by Sherrilyn Kenyon

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Holter Graham
Published: 05/08/2018

Heir of Novron, Michael J. Sullivan
Heir of Novron
by Michael J. Sullivan

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 08/10/2012
{"id":"2094255","ean":"9780062848789","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Poppy War","subtitle":"","author":"R. F. Kuang","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Emily Woo Zeller","series_id":"9633","ubr_id":"2094255","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"36.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"22.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emily Woo Zeller","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 18 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}