The Poppy War, R. F. Kuang
  • List: $36.99  |  Sale: $25.90
    Club: $18.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Poppy War

Author: R. F. Kuang

Series: The Poppy War

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller

Unabridged: 18 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 05/01/2018

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy - Historical

Synopsis

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy.When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard—the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising.But surprises aren’t always good.Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school.For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . .Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Recommended

A Conjuring of Light, V. E. Schwab
A Conjuring of Light
by V. E. Schwab

Londons fall and kingdoms rise while darkness sweeps the Maresh Empire, and the fraught balance of magic blossoms into dangerous territory while heroes struggle. The direct sequel to A Gathering of Shadows, and the final audiobook in the Shades of M...

Narrator: Kate Reading
Published: 02/21/2017

A Gathering of Shadows, V. E. Schwab
A Gathering of Shadows
by V. E. Schwab

Four months have passed since the shadow stone fell into Kell's possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Rhy was wounded and the Dane twins fell, and the stone was cast with Holland's dying body through ...

Narrator: Kate Reading
Published: 02/23/2016

Death Doesn't Bargain A Deadman's Cross Novel, Sherrilyn Kenyon
Death Doesn't Bargain
by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Death Doesn’t Bargain is the second historical fantasy audiobook in New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Deadman’s Cross series. In this chilling audiobook, deadmen tell their tales, and every soul is damned or rede...

Narrator: Holter Graham
Published: 05/08/2018

Across the Nightingale Floor Tales of the Otori Book One, Lian Hearn
Across the Nightingale Floor
by Lian Hearn

A tour-de-force novel set in ancient Japan filled with passion, fantasy, and feuding warlords. The first volume in the highly anticipated 'Tales of the Otori' trilogy.Sixteen-year-old Takeo's village has been massacred by an evil warlord, and he is...

Narrator: Kevin Gray
Published: 07/18/2002

Deadmen Walking A Deadman's Cross Novel, Sherrilyn Kenyon
Deadmen Walking
by Sherrilyn Kenyon

#1 New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon debuts a sweeping new epic saga sure to appeal to her millions of fans!Deadmen tell their tales . . . To catch evil, it takes evil. Enter Devyl Bane—an ancient dark warlord returned to the...

Narrator: Holter Graham
Published: 05/09/2017

Rise of Empire, Michael J. Sullivan
Rise of Empire
by Michael J. Sullivan

Best-selling author Michael J. Sullivan’s mesmerizing Riyria Revelations series has found a welcome home with fans of magic, clashing swords, and daring heroes. This second volume finds Royce and Hadrian on a quest to enlist the southern Natio...

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 05/31/2012

Brilliance of the Moon Tales of the Otori Book Three, Lian Hearn
Brilliance of the Moon
by Lian Hearn

Brilliance of the Moon is the third book in the Tales of the Otori series by Lian Hearn. A beautiful, haunting evocation of the medieval Japan of Lian Hearn's imagination, this thrilling follow-up to Grass for His Pillow and Across the Nightingale ...

Narrator: Kevin Gray
Published: 06/03/2004

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Susanna Clarke
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
by Susanna Clarke

At the dawn of the nineteenth century, two very different magicians emerge to change England's history. In the year 1806, with the Napoleonic Wars raging on land and sea, most people believe magic to be long dead in England-until the reclusive Mr No...

Narrator: Simon Prebble
Published: 11/01/2004

Heir of Novron, Michael J. Sullivan
Heir of Novron
by Michael J. Sullivan

A rising star in the fantasy genre, Michael J. Sullivan has built an ardent following for his Riyria Revelations saga, which draws to its epic conclusion in Heir of Novron. On the holiday of Wintertide, the New Empire plans to burn the Witch of Mele...

Narrator: Tim Gerard Reynolds
Published: 08/10/2012
{"id":"2094255","ean":"9780062848789","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Poppy War","subtitle":"","author":"R. F. Kuang","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Emily Woo Zeller","series_id":"9633","ubr_id":"2094255","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"36.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"22.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emily Woo Zeller","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 18 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}