The Minister's Daughter, Julie Hearn
  • List: $18.50  |  Sale: $12.95
    Club: $9.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Minister's Daughter

Author: Julie Hearn

Narrator: Heather O'Neill

Unabridged: 8 hr 4 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/14/2005

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Europe

Synopsis

Conceived on a May Morning, Nell is claimed by the piskies and faeries as a merrybegot, one of their own. She is a wild child: herb gatherer and healer, spell-weaver and midwife . . . and, some say, a witch.
Grace is everything Nell is not. She is the Puritan minister’s daughter: beautiful and refined, innocent and sweet-natured . . . to those who think they know her. But she is hiding a secret–a secret that will bring everlasting shame to her family should it ever come to light.
A merrybegot and a minister’s daughter–two girls who could not have less in common. Yet their fates collide when Grace and her younger sister, Patience, are suddenly spitting pins, struck with fits, and speaking in fevered tongues. The minister is convinced his daughters are the victims of witchcraft. And all signs point to Nell as the source of the trouble. . . .
Set during the tumultuous era of the English Civil War, The Minister’s Daughter is a spellbinding page-turner–stunning historical fiction that captures the superstition, passion, madness, and magic of a vanished age.


From the Compact Disc edition.

Recommended

The Red Necklace A Novel of the French Revolution, Sally Gardner
The Red Necklace
by Sally Gardner

The winds of change are blowing through Paris in the winter of 1789, both for France and for our hero, a striking and mysterious Gypsy boy named Yann Margoza. He was born with a gift for knowing what people are thinking and an uncanny ability to thr...

Narrator: Carrington MacDuffie
Published: 05/13/2008

The Sweet Far Thing, Libba Bray
The Sweet Far Thing
by Libba Bray

The gripping conclusion to the critically acclaimed New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Gemma Doyle trilogy, an exhilarating and haunting saga from the author of The Diviners series and Going Bo...

Narrator: Josephine Bailey
Published: 01/08/2008

The FitzOsbornes in Exile, Michelle Cooper
The FitzOsbornes in Exile
by Michelle Cooper

Michelle Cooper combines the drama of pre-War Europe with the romance of debutante balls and gives us another compelling historical page turner.Sophia FitzOsborne and the royal family of Montmaray escaped their remote island home when the Germans at...

Narrator: Emma Bering
Published: 04/05/2011

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy, Mackenzi Lee
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy
by Mackenzi Lee

In this highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, Felicity Montague must use all her womanly wits and wiles to achieve her dreams of becoming a doctor—even if she has to scheme...

Narrator: Moira Quirk
Published: 10/02/2018

How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff
How I Live Now
by Meg Rosoff

“Every war has turning points and every person too.”Fifteen-year-old Daisy is sent from Manhattan to England to visit her aunt and cousins she’s never met: three boys near her age, and their little sister. Her aunt goes away on bus...

Narrator: Kim Mai Guest
Published: 02/08/2005

Wrapped, Jennifer Bradbury
Wrapped
by Jennifer Bradbury

Agnes Wilkins is standing in front of an Egyptian mummy, about to make the first cut into the wrappings, about to unlock ancient (and not-so-ancient) history. Maybe you think this girl is wearing a pith helmet with antique dust swirling around her. ...

Narrator: Elissa Steele
Published: 09/13/2011

Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys
Salt to the Sea
by Ruta Sepetys

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"—The Wall Street JournalFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 02/09/2016

Ink, Iron, and Glass, Gwendolyn Clare
Ink, Iron, and Glass
by Gwendolyn Clare

Can she write a world gone wrong?A certain pen, a certain book, and a certain person can craft entirely new worlds through a branch of science called scriptology. Elsa comes from one such world that was written into creation, where her mother—...

Narrator: Lauren Fortgang
Published: 07/10/2018

The Boy Who Dared, Susan Campbell Bartoletti
The Boy Who Dared
by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

Just as the Nazis are rising to power, Helmuth Hübener, a German schoolboy, is caught up in all the swashbuckling bravado of his time. The handsome stormtrooper uniforms, the shiny jackboots and armbands, the rousing patriotism all serve to dra...

Narrator: David Ackroyd
Published: 01/13/2009
{"id":"317366","ean":"9780307245496","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Minister's Daughter","subtitle":"","author":"Julie Hearn","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Heather O'Neill","ubr_id":"317366","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.03","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Heather O'Neill","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}