The Magdalen Girls, V. S. Alexander
  • List: $19.95  |  Sale: $13.97
    Club: $9.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Magdalen Girls

Author: V. S. Alexander

Narrator: Alana Kerr Collins

Unabridged: 11 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 12/27/2016

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

Dublin, 1962. Within the gated grounds of the convent of the Sisters of the Holy Redemption lies one of the citys Magdalen Laundries. Once places of refuge, the laundries have evolved into grim workhouses. Some inmates are fallen womenunwed mothers, prostitutes, or petty criminals. Most are ordinary girls whose only sin lies in being too pretty, too independent, or tempting the wrong man. Among them is sixteen-year-old Teagan Tiernan, sent by her family when her beauty provokes a lustful revelation from a young priest.Teagan soon befriends Nora Craven, a new arrival who thought nothing could be worse than living in a squalid tenement flat. Stripped of their freedom and dignity, the girls are given new names and denied contact with the outside world. The Mother Superior, Sister Anne, who has secrets of her own, inflicts cruel, dehumanizing punishmentsbut always in the name of love. Finally, Nora and Teagan find an ally in the reclusive Lea, who helps them endureand plot an escape. But as they will discover, the outside world has dangers too, especially for young women with soiled reputations. Told with candor, compassion, and vivid historical detail, The Magdalen Girls is a masterfully written novel of life within the eras notorious institutionsand an inspiring story of friendship, hope, and unyielding courage.

Recommended

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Fiery Cross, Diana Gabaldon
The Fiery Cross
by Diana Gabaldon

The year is 1771. Claire Randall is still an outlander, out of place and out of time. But now she is linked by love to her only anchor--Jamie Fraser. They have crossed oceans and centuries to build a life together in North Carolina. But tensions, bo...

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 05/04/2002

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016
{"id":"1522484","ean":"9781504792943","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Magdalen Girls","subtitle":"","author":"V. S. Alexander","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Alana Kerr Collins","ubr_id":"1522484","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"12.97","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Alana Kerr Collins","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}