The Lost Vintage, Ann Mah
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Lost Vintage

Author: Ann Mah

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld

Unabridged: 11 hr 43 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 06/19/2018

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who returns to her family’s ancestral vineyard in Burgundy and unexpectedly uncovers a lost diary, an unknown relative, and a secret her family has been keeping since World War II.To become one of only a few hundred certified wine experts in the world, Kate must pass the notoriously difficult Master of Wine examination. She’s failed twice before; her third attempt will be her last chance. Suddenly finding herself without a job and with the test a few months away, she travels to Burgundy to spend the fall at the vineyard estate that has belonged to her family for generations. There she can bolster her shaky knowledge of Burgundian vintages and reconnect with her cousin Nico and his wife, Heather, who now oversee day-to-day management of the grapes. The one person Kate hopes to avoid is Jean-Luc, a talented young winemaker and her first love.At the vineyard house, Kate is eager to help her cousin clean out the enormous basement that is filled with generations of discarded and forgotten belongings. Deep inside the cellar, behind a large armoire, she discovers a hidden room containing a cot, some Resistance pamphlets, and an enormous cache of valuable wine. Piqued by the secret space, Kate begins to dig into her family’s history—a search that takes her back to the dark days of World War II and introduces her to a relative she never knew existed, a great–half aunt who was a teenager during the Nazi occupation.As she learns more about her family, the line between resistance and collaboration blurs, driving Kate to find the answers to two crucial questions: Who, exactly, did her family aid during the difficult years of the war? And what happened to six valuable bottles of wine that seem to be missing from the cellar’s collection?

Recommended

Days of Infamy, Newt Gingrich
Days of Infamy
by Newt Gingrich

Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor they explored how history might have been changed...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 04/29/2008

The Last Year of the War, Susan Meissner
The Last Year of the War
by Susan Meissner

From the acclaimed author of Secrets of a Charmed Life and As Bright as Heaven comes a novel about a German American teenager whose life changes forever when her immigrant family is sent to an internment camp during World War II.   Elise Sontag...

Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Published: 03/19/2019

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star “Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Girl They Left Behind, Roxanne Veletzos
The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.On a fr...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan’s Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female secret agents during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through...

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her — and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is ...

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

The Wartime Sisters A Novel, Lynda Cohen Loigman
The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author, Alyson Richman and Lauren Willig. The next powerful audiobook from the author of The Two-Family House about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. Two estranged si...

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019
{"id":"2202082","ean":"9780062849281","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Lost Vintage","subtitle":"","author":"Ann Mah","rating_average":"4.43","narrator":"Saskia Maarleveld","ubr_id":"2202082","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Saskia Maarleveld","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}