The Lives of the Twelve Caesars, Suetonius
List: $28.00 | Sale: $19.60
Club: $14.00

The Lives of the Twelve Caesars

Author: Suetonius

Narrator: Derek Jacobi

Abridged: 7 hr 13 min

Format: Digital Audiobook Download

Publisher: Naxos

Published: 05/01/2005


Suetonius wrote his Lives of the Twelve Caesars in the reign of Vespasian around A. D. 70. He chronicled the extraordinary careers of Julius, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Vespasian and Domitian and the rest in technicolour terms. They presented some high and low times at the heart of the Roman Empire. The accounts provide us with perspicacious insights into the men as much as their reigns – and it was from Suetonius that subsequent writers such as Robert Graves drew so much of their material.