The Light After the War: A Novel, Anita Abriel
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Light After the War: A Novel

Author: Anita Abriel

Narrator: Jesse Vilinsky

Unabridged: 10 hr 15 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 02/04/2020

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, this sweeping novel of love and friendship spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones. It is 1946 when Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women must start new lives abroad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight. But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to change course. Their quest for a better life takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Caracas as they start careers, reunite with old friends, and rebuild their lives after terrible loss. Moving, evocative, and compelling, this timely tale of true friendship, love, and survival will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

Recommended

The Things We Cannot Say, Kelly Rimmer
The Things We Cannot Say
by Kelly Rimmer

List: $27.99

Sale: $19.59

Club: $13.99

Narrator: Ann Marie Gideon
Published: 03/19/2019

Fast Girls A Novel of the 1936 Women’s Olympic Team., Elise Hooper
Fast Girls
by Elise Hooper

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Karissa Vacker
Published: 07/07/2020

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

The Flight Girls A Novel, Noelle Salazar
The Flight Girls
by Noelle Salazar

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Xe Sands
Published: 07/02/2019

The Black Swan of Paris A Novel, Karen Robards
The Black Swan of Paris
by Karen Robards

List: $36.99

Sale: $25.90

Club: $18.49

Narrator: Nancy Peterson
Published: 06/30/2020

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

The Book of Lost Names, Kristin Harmel
The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Madeleine Maby
Published: 07/21/2020

The London Restoration, Rachel McMillan
The London Restoration
by Rachel McMillan

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Hannah Curtis
Published: 08/18/2020
{"id":"3707262","ean":"9781797102191","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Light After the War: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Anita Abriel","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jesse Vilinsky","ubr_id":"3707262","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jesse Vilinsky","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 15 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}