The Last Days of Night, Graham Moore
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Last Days of Night

Author: Graham Moore

Narrator: Johnathan McClain

Unabridged: 13 hr 1 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/16/2016

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A world of invention and skulduggery, populated by the likes of Edison, Westinghouse, and Tesla.”—Erik Larson
 
“A model of superior historical fiction . . . an exciting, sometimes astonishing story.”—The Washington Post
  
From Graham Moore, the Oscar-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and New York Times bestselling author of The Sherlockian, comes a thrilling novel—based on actual events—about the nature of genius, the cost of ambition, and the battle to electrify America.

New York, 1888. Gas lamps still flicker in the city streets, but the miracle of electric light is in its infancy. The person who controls the means to turn night into day will make history—and a vast fortune. A young untested lawyer named Paul Cravath, fresh out of Columbia Law School, takes a case that seems impossible to win. Paul’s client, George Westinghouse, has been sued by Thomas Edison over a billion-dollar question: Who invented the light bulb and holds the right to power the country?

The case affords Paul entry to the heady world of high society—the glittering parties in Gramercy Park mansions, and the more insidious dealings done behind closed doors. The task facing him is beyond daunting. Edison is a wily, dangerous opponent with vast resources at his disposal—private spies, newspapers in his pocket, and the backing of J. P. Morgan himself. Yet this unknown lawyer shares with his famous adversary a compulsion to win at all costs. How will he do it?

In obsessive pursuit of victory, Paul crosses paths with Nikola Tesla, an eccentric, brilliant inventor who may hold the key to defeating Edison, and with Agnes Huntington, a beautiful opera singer who proves to be a flawless performer on stage and off. As Paul takes greater and greater risks, he’ll find that everyone in his path is playing their own game, and no one is quite who they seem.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND THE PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER

“A satisfying romp . . . Takes place against a backdrop rich with period detail . . . Works wonderfully as an entertainment . . . As it charges forward, the novel leaves no dot unconnected.”—Noah Hawley, The New York Times Book Review

Recommended

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Fiery Cross, Diana Gabaldon
The Fiery Cross
by Diana Gabaldon

The year is 1771. Claire Randall is still an outlander, out of place and out of time. But now she is linked by love to her only anchor--Jamie Fraser. They have crossed oceans and centuries to build a life together in North Carolina. But tensions, bo...

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 05/04/2002

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003
{"id":"1400481","ean":"9780735284555","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Last Days of Night","subtitle":"","author":"Graham Moore","rating_average":"4.47","narrator":"Johnathan McClain","ubr_id":"1400481","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Johnathan McClain","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}