The Lace Reader, Brunonia Barry
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Lace Reader

Author: Brunonia Barry

Narrator: Alyssa Bresnahan

Unabridged: 11 hr 43 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 07/29/2008

Genre: Fiction

Synopsis

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Recommended

Guilty Wives, James Patterson
Guilty Wives
by James Patterson

No husbands allowed Only minutes after Abbie Elliot and her three best friends step off of a private helicopter, they enter the most luxurious, sumptuous, sensually pampering hotel they have ever been to. Their lavish presidential suite overlooks M...

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 03/26/2012

Gone An Alex Delaware Novel, Jonathan Kellerman
Gone
by Jonathan Kellerman

No one conducts a more chilling, suspenseful, thoroughly engrossing tour through the winding corridors of criminal behavior and the secret chambers of psychopathology than Jonathan Kellerman, the bestselling “master of the psychological thrill...

Narrator: John Rubinstein
Published: 03/28/2006

Obsession An Alex Delaware Novel, Jonathan Kellerman
Obsession
by Jonathan Kellerman

#1 New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Kellerman is the unequivocal “master of the psychological thriller” (People). Tanya Bigelow was a solemn little girl when Dr. Alex Delaware successfully treated her obsessive-compulsive sympt...

Narrator: John Rubinstein
Published: 03/27/2007

Safe Haven, Nicholas Sparks
Safe Haven
by Nicholas Sparks

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series o...

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Published: 09/14/2010

The Shoemaker's Wife A Novel, Adriana Trigiani
The Shoemaker's Wife
by Adriana Trigiani

Beloved New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani returns with the most epic and ambitious novel of her career—a breathtaking multigenerational love story that spans two continents, two World Wars, and the quest of two star-crossed l...

Narrator: Orlagh Cassidy
Published: 09/04/2012

The Whole Truth, David Baldacci
The Whole Truth
by David Baldacci

"Matt, I need a war."So begins David Baldacci's new book--a thriller unlike any he's written before. "Matt" is Mathew Pender, of Pender Associates--a shadowy organization that specializes in managing seemingly impossible situations for its clients....

Narrator: Ron McLarty
Published: 04/22/2008

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest Book 3 of the Millennium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest
by Stieg Larsson

Lisbeth Salander—the heart of Larsson’s two previous novels—lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if ...

Narrator: Reg Keeland
Published: 05/25/2010

11/22/63, Stephen King
11/22/63
by Stephen King

On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? Stephen King’s heart-stoppingly dramatic new novel is about a man who travels back in time to prevent the JF...

Narrator: Craig Wasson
Published: 11/08/2011

The Pact, Jodi Picoult
The Pact
by Jodi Picoult

This breakout, award-winning novel from New York Times best-selling author Jodi Picoult received glowing praise from critics. Kirkus Reviews called it an affecting study of obsession, loss, and some of the more wrenching varieties of guilt, while Pe...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 03/21/2006

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Dustine on 2008-08-16 21:07:36

This listenr recommends the abridged version maybe it would help the story to move along. Details, details, details! Frankly, this listener was heard to say aloud,Just get on witn it! The synopsis intrigued then disappointed and finally annoyed. I give it two stars because.. the twist at the end was clever and unexpected. This story had potential, could have gone in several directions, but it didnt.

{"id":"170850","ean":"9780061702433","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Lace Reader","subtitle":"","author":"Brunonia Barry","rating_average":"3.88","narrator":"Alyssa Bresnahan","ubr_id":"170850","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Alyssa Bresnahan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 42 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}