The Kommandant's Girl, Pam Jenoff
  • List: $27.99  |  Sale: $19.59
    Club: $13.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Kommandant's Girl

Author: Pam Jenoff

Narrator: Nancy Peterson

Abridged: 13 hr 37 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 07/09/2019

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

In her luminous and groundbreaking debut, New York Times bestselling author Pam Jenoff shows the unimaginable sacrifices one woman must make in a time of war

Nineteen-year-old Emma Bau has been married only three weeks when Nazi tanks thunder into her native Poland. Within days Emma’s husband, Jacob, is forced to disappear underground, leaving her imprisoned within the city’s decrepit Jewish ghetto. But then, in the dead of night, the resistance smuggles her out. Taken to Krakow to live with Jacob’s Catholic aunt, Krysia, Emma takes on a new identity as Anna Lipowski, a gentile.

Emma’s already precarious situation is complicated by her introduction to Kommandant Richwalder, a high-ranking Nazi official who hires her to work as his assistant. Urged by the resistance to use her position to access details of the Nazi occupation, Emma must compromise her safety—and her marriage vows—in order to help Jacob’s cause. As the atrocities of war intensify, Emma must make choices that will force her to risk not only her double life, but also the lives of those she loves.

Recommended

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star “Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Lost Vintage, Ann Mah
The Lost Vintage
by Ann Mah

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who re...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/19/2018

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Wartime Sisters A Novel, Lynda Cohen Loigman
The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author, Alyson Richman and Lauren Willig. The next powerful audiobook from the author of The Two-Family House about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. Two estranged si...

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019

Days of Infamy, Newt Gingrich
Days of Infamy
by Newt Gingrich

Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor they explored how history might have been changed...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 04/29/2008

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan’s Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female secret agents during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through...

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her — and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is ...

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

The Girl They Left Behind, Roxanne Veletzos
The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.On a fr...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018

About the Author

If there were a story about empowered women, Pam Jenoff would certainly be a great example. She was born in Maryland and grew up outside of Philadelphia. She went to Cherokee High School, George Washington University, Cambridge University, and University of Pennsylvania. Her university work garnered her a Master's Degree in history and a Juris Doctorate Degree in Law. After receiving her master's, she accepted an appointment as Special Assistant to the Army, where she observed and participated in special operations at the highest levels of government. Some of those included......helping secure a memorial for Pan Am 103 victims at Arlington Cemetery, observing recovery efforts at the Oklahoma City bombing, and attending the ceremonies to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of WW II at European sites. Pam then moved to the State Department, after which she was assigned to the U.S. Consulate in Krakow, Poland. She developed close relations with the surviving Jewish community.

In 1996, she went to law school, and now teaches at Rutgers University. She is also the author of The Kommandant's Girl, The Winter Guest, The Diplomat's Wife, The Ambassador's Daughter, Almost Home, A Hidden Affair, The Things We Cherished, and her most recent work, The Other Girl. Pam is a resident of Haddonfield, New Jersey with her husband and three children.

{"id":"3181286","ean":"9781488206788","abr":"Abridged","title":"The Kommandant's Girl","subtitle":"","author":"Pam Jenoff","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Nancy Peterson","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"3181286","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"27.99","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"16.79","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Nancy Peterson","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 13 hours 0 minutes"}