The Iran Wars: Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East, Jay Solomon
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Iran Wars: Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East

Author: Jay Solomon

Narrator: Rob Shapiro

Unabridged: 11 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/30/2016

Genre: Political Science - International Relations - Diplomacy

Synopsis

From the Wall Street Journal reporter who’s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country’s decades-long power struggle with the United States—for readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower

For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East—a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran’s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region—what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America’s interests. The Iran Wars is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels—military, financial, and covert.

Jay Solomon’s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict—from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter’s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran’s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship.

This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll’s Ghost Wars and Lawrence Wright’s The Looming Tower, The Iran Wars exposes the hidden history of a conflict most Americans don’t even realize is being fought, but whose outcome could have far-reaching geopolitical implications.

Praise for The Iran Wars
 
“The use of the word ‘wars,’ plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship.”—George P. Shultz, former secretary of state

“An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon’s The Iran Wars offers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America’s most cunning and dangerous foes.”—Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS

“A thorough yet concise survey of Iran’s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. Wall Street Journal chief foreign affairs correspondent [Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran’s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations.”—Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Strategic Vision America and the Crisis of Global Power, Zbigniew Brzezinski
Strategic Vision
by Zbigniew Brzezinski

“One of the nation’s most important voices on foreign policy” (The Washington Post) presents a blueprint for keeping America economically vital, responsibly powerful, and globally engaged in a time of immense change.

Narrator: Grover Gardner
Published: 01/24/2012

The Perfect Weapon War, Sabotage, and Fear in the Cyber Age, David E. Sanger
The Perfect Weapon
by David E. Sanger

In 2015, Russian hackers tunneled deep into the computer systems of the Democratic National Committee, and the subsequent leaks of the emails they stole may have changed the course of American democracy. But to see the DNC hacks as Trump-centric is ...

Narrator: Robertson Dean
Published: 06/19/2018

Not for the Faint of Heart Lessons in Courage, Power, and Persistence, Wendy R. Sherman
Not for the Faint of Heart
by Wendy R. Sherman

Distinguished diplomat Ambassador Wendy Sherman brings readers inside the negotiating room to show how to put diplomatic values like courage, power, and persistence to work in their own lives. Few people have sat across from the Iranians and the No...

Narrator: Wendy R. Sherman
Published: 09/04/2018

From Cold War to Hot Peace The Inside Story of Russia and America, Michael McFaul
From Cold War to Hot Peace
by Michael McFaul

From one of America's leading scholars of Russia who served as U.S. ambassador to Russia during the Obama administration, a revelatory, inside account of U.S.-Russia relations from 1989 to the present

Narrator: L.J. Ganser
Published: 06/12/2018

The Hundred-Year Marathon Chinas Secret Strategy to Replace America as the Global Superpower, Michael Pillsbury
The Hundred-Year Marathon
by Michael Pillsbury

One of the US governments leading China experts reveals the hidden strategy fueling that countrys riseand how Americans have been seduced into helping China overtake us as the worlds leading superpower. For more than forty years, the United States ...

Narrator: Malcolm Hillgartner
Published: 04/01/2015

A Pretext for War 9/11, Iraq, and the Abuse of America's Intelligence Agencies, James Bamford
A Pretext for War
by James Bamford

The bestselling author of Body of Secrets and The Puzzle Palace presents his most hard-hitting book to date—a sweeping, authoritative, and fearless account of the failures of America’s intelligence agencies and the Bush administration...

Narrator: Robertson Dean,Ray Childs
Published: 06/08/2004

A Pretext For War 9/11, Iraq, and the Abuse of America's Intelligence Agencies, James Bamford
A Pretext For War
by James Bamford

In A Pretext for War, acclaimed author James Bamford–whose classic book The Puzzle Palace first revealed the existence of the National Security Agency–draws on his unparalleled access to top intelligence sources to produce...

Narrator: Robertson Dean,Ray Childs
Published: 02/09/2004

A World in Disarray American Foreign Policy and the Crisis of the Old Order, Richard Haass
A World in Disarray
by Richard Haass

"A valuable primer on foreign policy: a primer that concerned citizens of all political persuasions—not to mention the president and his advisers—could benefit from reading." —The New York TimesAn examination of a world increa...

Narrator: Dan Woren
Published: 01/10/2017

Asia's Reckoning China, Japan, and the Fate of U.S. Power in the Pacific Century, Richard McGregor
Asia's Reckoning
by Richard McGregor

A Financial Times Best Book of 2017“A shrewd and knowing book.” —Robert D. Kaplan, The Wall Street Journal“A compelling and impressive read.” —The Economist“Skillfully crafted and well-argued.”...

Narrator: Steve West
Published: 09/05/2017
{"id":"1446921","ean":"9780735210295","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Iran Wars: Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East","subtitle":"Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East","author":"Jay Solomon","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Rob Shapiro","ubr_id":"1446921","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rob Shapiro","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}