The Friendship Cure: Reconnecting in the Modern World, Kate Leaver
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Friendship Cure: Reconnecting in the Modern World

Author: Kate Leaver

Narrator: Candice Moll

Unabridged: 9 hr 25 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 12/25/2018

Genre: Family & Relationships - Friendship

Synopsis

The compelling, fresh, and thought-provoking exploration of friendship―what it is, how to keep it, and why we need it more than ever beforeOur best friends, Twitter followers, gal-pals, bromances, Facebook friends, and long distance buddies define us in ways we rarely openly acknowledge. But as a society, we are simultaneously terrified of being alone and already desperately lonely. We move through life in packs and friendship circles and yet, in the most interconnected age, we are stuck in the greatest loneliness epidemic of our time. It's killing us, making us miserable and causing a public health crisis. Increasingly, we don’t just die alone; we die because we are alone. What if meaningful friendships are the solution?Journalist Kate Leaver believes that friendship is the essential cure for the modern malaise of solitude, ill health, and anxiety and that, if we only treated camaraderie as a social priority, it could affect everything from our physical health and emotional well being. Her much-anticipated manifesto, The Friendship Cure, looks at what friendship means, how it can survive, why we need it, and what we can do to get the most from it. Why do some friendships last a lifetime, while others are only temporary? How do you “break up” with a toxic friend? How do you make friends as an adult? Can men and women really be platonic? What are the curative qualities of friendship, and how we can deploy friendship to actually live longer, better lives?From behavioral scientists to besties, Kate draws upon the extraordinary research from academics, scientists, and psychotherapists, and stories from friends of friends, strangers from the Internet, and her “squad” to get to the bottom of these and other facets of friendship. For readers of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic, The Friendship Cure is a fascinating blend of accessible “smart thinking,” investigative journalism, pop culture, and memoir for anyone trying to navigate this lonely world, written with the wit, charm, and bite of a fresh voice.

Recommended

How to Win Friends: The Ultimate Guide To Make Friends and Influence People, Gary P. Bear
How to Win Friends: The Ultimate Guid...
by Gary P. Bear

List: $4.99

Sale: $3.50

Club: $2.49

Narrator: Jesse Gross
Published: 07/18/2019

ANXIETY IN RELATIONSHIP COUPLES THERAPY & COMMUNICATION IN MARRIAGE. Conflict Resolution Therapy & Perfecting Emotional Intimacy. Nonviolent Communication & Empathic Listening/Speaking. NEW VERSION, MARSHALL MAHER
ANXIETY IN RELATIONSHIP
by MARSHALL MAHER

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Perdens Studio
Published: 04/13/2020

Girls & Sex Navigating the Complicated New Landscape, Peggy Orenstein
Girls & Sex
by Peggy Orenstein

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Peggy Orenstein
Published: 03/29/2016

Never Chase Men Again: 38 Dating Secrets to Get the Guy, Keep Him Interested, and Prevent Dead-End Relationships, Bruce Bryans
Never Chase Men Again: 38 Dating Secr...
by Bruce Bryans

List: $6.99

Sale: $4.90

Club: $3.49

Narrator: Dan Culhane
Published: 02/10/2016

You're the Only One I Can Tell Inside the Language of Women's Friendships, Deborah Tannen
You're the Only One I Can Tell
by Deborah Tannen

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Deborah Tannen
Published: 05/02/2017

Big Friendship How We Keep Each Other Close, Aminatou Sow
Big Friendship
by Aminatou Sow

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Aminatou Sow
Published: 07/14/2020

Dirty Girls on Top, Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez
Dirty Girls on Top
by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Cynthia Holloway
Published: 05/15/2008

IMPROVE YOUR SOCIAL SKILLS Exploit a Magnetic Charisma for Building Your Social Circles. A Path to Improve Communication Skills and Emotional Agility. Understanding Others Will be Easy! NEW VERSION, BARACK E. WHITE
IMPROVE YOUR SOCIAL SKILLS
by BARACK E. WHITE

List: $14.95

Sale: $10.47

Club: $7.47

Narrator: Erika Mary
Published: 04/11/2020

MWF Seeking BFF My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend, Rachel Bertsche
MWF Seeking BFF
by Rachel Bertsche

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Annie Wood
Published: 12/20/2011
{"id":"2621754","ean":"9781978650978","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Friendship Cure: Reconnecting in the Modern World","subtitle":"Reconnecting in the Modern World","author":"Kate Leaver","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Candice Moll","ubr_id":"2621754","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Candice Moll","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}