The Field Guide to the North American Teenager, Ben Philippe
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Author: Ben Philippe

Narrator: James Fouhey

Unabridged: 9 hr 12 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 01/08/2019

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Humorous

Synopsis

A hilarious contemporary realistic YA debut novel about a rather cynical Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the clichés and joys of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and When Dimple Met Rishi.Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it’s time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris…like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making. But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life—along with the people who have found their way into his heart.

Recommended

Fat Vampire A Never Coming of Age Story, Adam Rex
Fat Vampire
by Adam Rex

Doug Lee is undead quite by accident—attacked by a desperate vampire, he finds himself cursed with being fat and fifteen forever. When he has no luck finding some goth chick with a vampire fetish, he resorts to sucking the blood of cows under...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 07/27/2010

Team Human, Justine Larbalestier
Team Human
by Justine Larbalestier

Just because Mel lives in New Whitby, a city founded by vampires, doesn't mean she knows any of the blood-drinking undead personally. They stay in their part of town; she says in hers. Until the day a vampire shows up at her high school. Worse yet, ...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 09/18/2012

Genius Wars, Catherine Jinks
Genius Wars
by Catherine Jinks

After abandoning a life full of deception and mistrust, fifteen-year-old Cadel has finally found his niche. He has a proper home, good friends, and loving parents. He’s even studying at a real university.      But he’...

Narrator: Justine Eyre
Published: 12/07/2010

Skink--No Surrender, Carl Hiaasen
Skink--No Surrender
by Carl Hiaasen

Carl Hiaasen serves up his unique brand of swamp justice in the New York Times bestseller Skink—No Surrender.   A National Book Award Longlist Selection   When your cousin goes missing under suspicious circumstances, who do you call?...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 09/23/2014

Son of the Mob, Gordon Korman
Son of the Mob
by Gordon Korman

A reluctant Mafia prince . . .Vince Luca is just like any other high school guy. His best friend, Alex, is trying to score vicariously through him; his brother is a giant pain; and his father keeps bugging him to get motivated. There is just one t...

Narrator: Max Casella
Published: 09/03/2002

All-American Girl, Meg Cabot
All-American Girl
by Meg Cabot

Samantha Madison is just your average disenfranchised sophomore gal living in DC when, in an inadvertent moment sandwiched between cookie buying and CD-perusing, she puts a stop to an attempt on the life of the president. Before she can say “...

Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Published: 08/20/2002

Peeled, Joan Bauer
Peeled
by Joan Bauer

Something’s rotten in Apple country!Hildy Biddle is a high school reporter eager to stand up for the truth. She’s just waiting for a chance to prove herself as a journalist, and yearning for a big story. The trouble is, the town’s ...

Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Published: 05/13/2008

A Short History of the Girl Next Door, Jared Reck
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
by Jared Reck

Get your tissues ready for this unrequited love story that’s equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking and will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.   Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your ...

Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Published: 09/26/2017

Girl, (Nearly) 16: Absolute Torture, Sue Limb
Girl, (Nearly) 16: Absolute Torture
by Sue Limb

Just when things were going so well.Jess had the perfect summer planned: She and Fred, lounging in the park, gazing into one another’s eyes and engaging in witty repartee. It was going to be so romantic. And then her maddening mum stepped in: ...

Narrator: Katherine Kellgren
Published: 10/11/2005
{"id":"2766307","ean":"9780062885203","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Field Guide to the North American Teenager","subtitle":"","author":"Ben Philippe","rating_average":"0","narrator":"James Fouhey","ubr_id":"2766307","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"James Fouhey","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 12 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}