The Empty Throne, Bernard Cornwell
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Empty Throne

Author: Bernard Cornwell

Series: Saxon Tales #8

Narrator: Matt Bates

Unabridged: 11 hr 12 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 01/06/2015

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

The eighth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit BBC America television series.My name is Uhtred. I am the son of Uhtred, who was the son of Uhtred . . .’Britain, early tenth century AD: a time of change. There are new raids by the Vikings from Ireland, and turmoil among the Saxons over the leadership of Mercia. A younger generation is taking over.When Æthelred, the ruler of Mercia, dies, he leaves no legitimate heir. The West Saxons want their king, but Uhtred has long supported Æthelflaed, sister to King Edward of Wessex and widow of Æethelred. Widely loved and respected, Æthelflaed has all the makings of a leader—but can Saxon warriors ever accept a woman as their ruler? The stage is set for rivals to fight for the empty throne.With this eighth entry in the epic Saxon Tales series, we are reminded once again why New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell is “the most prolific and successful historical novelist in the world today” (Wall Street Journal).

Recommended

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

Agincourt, Bernard Cornwell
Agincourt
by Bernard Cornwell

“Agincourt is classic Cornwell…[with] attention to historical detail, well-paced action, and descriptive writing that is a pleasure to read.” —Boston Globe Bernard Cornwell, the New York Times bestselling “rei...

Narrator: Charles Keating
Published: 01/20/2009

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

Saxon Tales Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from Saxon Tales

{"id":"731088","ean":"9780062370624","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Empty Throne","subtitle":"","author":"Bernard Cornwell","rating_average":"4.78","narrator":"Matt Bates","series_id":"1591","ubr_id":"731088","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Matt Bates","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}