The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute—Before the Last Minute, Christopher Cox
  • List: $17.99  |  Sale: $12.59
    Club: $8.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute—Before the Last Minute

Author: Christopher Cox

Narrator: George Newbern

Unabridged: 5 hr 46 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 07/06/2021

Genre: Business & Economics - Skills

Synopsis

In the tradition of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, Christopher Cox’s The Deadline Effect is a wise and counterintuitive book that explores the power of deadlines as uniquely effective tools of motivation and empowerment.Perfectionists and procrastinators alike agree—it’s natural to dread a deadline. Whether your goal is to complete a masterpiece or just check off an overwhelming to-do list, the ticking clock signals despair. Christopher Cox knows the panic of the looming deadline all too well—as a magazine editor, he has spent years overseeing writers and journalists who couldn’t meet a deadline to save their lives. After putting in a few too many late nights in the newsroom, he became determined to learn the secret of managing deadlines. He set off to observe nine different organizations as they approached a high-pressure deadline. Along the way, Cox made an ever greater discovery: these experts didn’t just meet their big deadlines—they became more focused, productive, and creative in the process. In The Deadline Effect, Cox shares the strategies these teams used to guarantee success while staying on schedule: a restaurant opening for the first time, a ski resort covering an entire mountain in snow, a farm growing enough lilies in time for Easter, and more. Cox explains how readers can understand the psychological underpinnings of expectations and time, the dynamics of teams and customers, and techniques for using deadlines to make better, more assured decisions.

{"id":"5267301","ean":"9781797125978","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Deadline Effect: How to Work Like It's the Last Minute—Before the Last Minute","subtitle":"How to Work Like It's the Last Minute—Before the Last Minute","author":"Christopher Cox","rating_average":"0","narrator":"George Newbern","ubr_id":"5267301","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"10.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Newbern","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 46 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}