The Coyote's Bicycle: The Untold Story of Seven Thousand Bicycles and the Rise of a Borderland Empire, Kimball Taylor
  • List: $29.99  |  Sale: $21.00
    Club: $14.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Coyote's Bicycle: The Untold Story of Seven Thousand Bicycles and the Rise of a Borderland Empire

Author: Kimball Taylor

Narrator: Thom Rivera

Unabridged: 13 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 11/28/2018

Genre: Social Science - Emigration & Immigration

Synopsis

For readers of Jon Krakauer and Susan Orlean, The Coyote's Bicycle brings to life a never-before-told phenomenon at our southern border, and the human drama of those who would cross.It wasn’t surprising when the first abandoned bicycles were found along the dirt roads and farmland just across the border from Tijuana, but before long they were arriving in droves. The bikes went from curiosity, to nuisance, to phenomenon. But until they caught the eye of journalist Kimball Taylor, only a small cadre of human smugglers—coyotes—and migrants could say how or why they’d gotten there. This is the story of 7,000 bikes that made an incredible journey and one young man from Oaxaca who arrived at the border with nothing, built a small empire, and then vanished. Taylor follows the trail of the border bikes through some of society’s most powerful institutions, and, with the help of an unlikely source, he reconstructs the rise of one of Tijuana’s most innovative coyotes. Touching on immigration and globalization, as well as the history of the US/Mexico border, The Coyote’s Bicycle is at once an immersive investigation of an outrageous occurrence and a true-crime, rags-to-riches story.

Recommended

The Undocumented Americans, Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
The Undocumented Americans
by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
Published: 03/24/2020

The Far Away Brothers Two Young Migrants and the Making of an American Life, Lauren Markham
The Far Away Brothers
by Lauren Markham

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 09/12/2017

The New Odyssey The Story of Europe's Refugee Crisis, Patrick Kingsley
The New Odyssey
by Patrick Kingsley

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Thomas Judd
Published: 01/10/2017

Separated Inside an American Tragedy, Jacob Soboroff
Separated
by Jacob Soboroff

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Jacob Soboroff
Published: 07/07/2020

Outcasts United An American Town, a Refugee Team, and One Woman's Quest to Make a Difference, Warren St. John
Outcasts United
by Warren St. John

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe
Published: 04/21/2009

The Land of Open Graves Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail, Jason De Leon
The Land of Open Graves
by Jason De Leon

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Ramon De Ocampo
Published: 08/21/2018

American Like Me, America Ferrera
American Like Me
by America Ferrera

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: America Ferrera
Published: 09/25/2018

Bones Brothers, Horses, Cartels, and the Borderland Dream, Joe Tone
Bones
by Joe Tone

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Ray Porter
Published: 08/08/2017

They Take Our Jobs! and 20 Other Myths about Immigration, Revised Edition, Aviva Chomsky
"They Take Our Jobs!"
by Aviva Chomsky

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Frankie Corzo
Published: 04/24/2018
{"id":"2478688","ean":"9781978650411","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Coyote's Bicycle: The Untold Story of Seven Thousand Bicycles and the Rise of a Borderland Empire","subtitle":"The Untold Story of Seven Thousand Bicycles and the Rise of a Borderland Empire","author":"Kimball Taylor","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Thom Rivera","ubr_id":"2478688","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"29.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.49","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Thom Rivera","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}