The Boy Who Dared, Susan Campbell Bartoletti
  • List: $14.00  |  Sale: $9.80
    Club: $7.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Boy Who Dared

Author: Susan Campbell Bartoletti

Narrator: David Ackroyd

Unabridged: 4 hr 12 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/13/2009

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Europe

Synopsis

Just as the Nazis are rising to power, Helmuth Hübener, a German schoolboy, is caught up in all the swashbuckling bravado of his time. The handsome stormtrooper uniforms, the shiny jackboots and armbands, the rousing patriotism all serve to draw him into this bright new world full of promise and hope. In the beginning his patriotism is unwavering. But every day the rights of people all over Germany are diminishing. Jews are threatened and their businesses are being destroyed. The truth has been censored, and danger lurks everywhere. Anybody can turn on you. The world has turned upside down: Patriotism means denouncing others, love means hate, and speaking out means treason. How much longer can Helmuth keep silent? Told in flashback, Newbery Honor Book author Susan Campbell Bartoletti magnificently explores the life of a heroic German youth who dared to stand up against the Nazi regime.

Recommended

The Red Necklace A Novel of the French Revolution, Sally Gardner
The Red Necklace
by Sally Gardner

The winds of change are blowing through Paris in the winter of 1789, both for France and for our hero, a striking and mysterious Gypsy boy named Yann Margoza. He was born with a gift for knowing what people are thinking and an uncanny ability to thr...

Narrator: Carrington MacDuffie
Published: 05/13/2008

The FitzOsbornes in Exile, Michelle Cooper
The FitzOsbornes in Exile
by Michelle Cooper

Michelle Cooper combines the drama of pre-War Europe with the romance of debutante balls and gives us another compelling historical page turner.Sophia FitzOsborne and the royal family of Montmaray escaped their remote island home when the Germans at...

Narrator: Emma Bering
Published: 04/05/2011

The Minister's Daughter, Julie Hearn
The Minister's Daughter
by Julie Hearn

Conceived on a May Morning, Nell is claimed by the piskies and faeries as a merrybegot, one of their own. She is a wild child: herb gatherer and healer, spell-weaver and midwife . . . and, some say, a witch.Grace is everything Nell is not. She is th...

Narrator: Heather O'Neill
Published: 06/14/2005

Wrapped, Jennifer Bradbury
Wrapped
by Jennifer Bradbury

Agnes Wilkins is standing in front of an Egyptian mummy, about to make the first cut into the wrappings, about to unlock ancient (and not-so-ancient) history. Maybe you think this girl is wearing a pith helmet with antique dust swirling around her. ...

Narrator: Elissa Steele
Published: 09/13/2011

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy, Mackenzi Lee
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy
by Mackenzi Lee

In this highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, Felicity Montague must use all her womanly wits and wiles to achieve her dreams of becoming a doctor—even if she has to scheme...

Narrator: Moira Quirk
Published: 10/02/2018

The Sweet Far Thing, Libba Bray
The Sweet Far Thing
by Libba Bray

The gripping conclusion to the critically acclaimed New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Gemma Doyle trilogy, an exhilarating and haunting saga from the author of The Diviners series and Going Bo...

Narrator: Josephine Bailey
Published: 01/08/2008

Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys
Salt to the Sea
by Ruta Sepetys

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"—The Wall Street JournalFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 02/09/2016

How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff
How I Live Now
by Meg Rosoff

“Every war has turning points and every person too.”Fifteen-year-old Daisy is sent from Manhattan to England to visit her aunt and cousins she’s never met: three boys near her age, and their little sister. Her aunt goes away on bus...

Narrator: Kim Mai Guest
Published: 02/08/2005

The Fountains of Silence, Ruta Sepetys
The Fountains of Silence
by Ruta Sepetys

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship. Madrid, 1957. Under the fa...

Narrator: Maite Jauregui
Published: 10/01/2019
{"id":"326147","ean":"9780739374061","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Boy Who Dared","subtitle":"","author":"Susan Campbell Bartoletti","rating_average":"4","narrator":"David Ackroyd","ubr_id":"326147","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.10","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"David Ackroyd","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}