The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
  • List: $25.50  |  Sale: $17.85
    Club: $12.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Book Thief

Author: Markus Zusak

Narrator: Allan Corduner

Unabridged: 13 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 09/26/2006

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Holocaust

Synopsis

DON’T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK’S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF.
 
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.
 
Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.

When Death has a story to tell, you listen.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement. 

In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak, author of I Am the Messenger, has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.
 
“The kind of book that can be life-changing.” —The New York Times
 
“Deserves a place on the same shelf with The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank.” —USA Today

Recommended

Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit
Anna and the Swallow Man
by Gavriel Savit

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production A New York Times BestsellerA Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Shelf Awareness&#...

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 01/12/2016

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke, Anne Blankman
Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke
by Anne Blankman

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to b...

Narrator: Heather Wilds
Published: 04/21/2015

Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys
Between Shades of Gray
by Ruta Sepetys

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington PostFrom New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss a...

Narrator: Emily Klein
Published: 03/22/2011

Tropical Secrets, Margarita Engle
Tropical Secrets
by Margarita Engle

Last year, in Berlinon the Night of Crystalmy grandfather was killedwhile I held his hand.Daniel has escaped Nazi Germany with nothing but a desperate dream that he might one day find his parents again. But that golden land called New York has turne...

Narrator: Matt Green
Published: 04/28/2009

The Librarian of Auschwitz, Antonio Iturbe
The Librarian of Auschwitz
by Antonio Iturbe

*Recommended by Parents' Choice*This program features an author's note read by Dita Kraus.Based on the experience of real-life Auschwitz prisoner Dita Kraus, The Librarian of Auschwitz is the incredible story of a girl who risked her life to keep th...

Narrator: Marisa Calin
Published: 10/10/2017

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, John Boyne
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
by John Boyne

BONUS FEATURE: Conversation between the author and the editor, David Fickling.Berlin 1942When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family mus...

Narrator: Michael Maloney
Published: 09/26/2006

Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In), Ruta Sepetys
Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)
by Ruta Sepetys

An international bestseller, a #1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture! Ruta Sepetys's Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow! "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are import...

Narrator: Emily Klein
Published: 12/18/2018

Prisoner of Night and Fog, Anne Blankman
Prisoner of Night and Fog
by Anne Blankman

In 1930s Munich, danger lurks behind dark corners, and secrets are buried deep within the city. But Gretchen Müller, who grew up in the National Socialist Party under the wing of her uncle Dolf, has been shielded from that side of society ever...

Narrator: Heather Wilds
Published: 04/22/2014

Milkweed, Jerry Spinelli
Milkweed
by Jerry Spinelli

A stunning novel of the Holocaust from Newbery Medalist, Jerry SpinelliHe's a boy called Jew. Gypsy. Stopthief. Filthy son of Abraham.He's a boy who lives in the streets of Warsaw. He's a boy who steals food for himself, and the other orphans. He'...

Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Published: 09/09/2003

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Debby on 2007-08-25 14:36:50

This book was on my bookclub reading list. At first, I wasn't sure what to think of 'Death' being the story teller. It did not take long to become totally engrossed in the story. The narrator did such an excellent job with all the different character's voices, that I felt I was 'in' the story. This is a poignant story, but has many moments where I found myself laughing. The relationship between Liselle and Rudy Steiner was so well told, that I felt a connection to them. I absolutely loved this story, and I highly recommend this book to anyone. I was sorry that the story ended. Bravo!

AudiobooksNow review by Diane on 2007-08-27 16:34:36

Excellent twist on a familiar subject matter. Highly recommended.

AudiobooksNow review by Lisa the Librarian on 2007-10-02 14:18:54

Nine-year-old Liesel Meminger is sent to a foster family to live in the few years just before the war. She experiences Germany in a common personís way. Her family hides a young Jewish man in the basement. Her best friend Rudy wants a kiss. An amazing book filled with incredible characters, the narrator not being the least of them. The use of metaphor and simile is unbelievably wonderful. This is the best audiobook I've heard so far. Though it has been marketed to the YA market in the US, it is sold in Europe across the ages. Highly enjoyable and appropriate for any listener 14 and up.

{"id":"320669","ean":"9780739337288","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Book Thief","subtitle":"","author":"Markus Zusak","rating_average":"4.38","narrator":"Allan Corduner","ubr_id":"320669","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.58","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Allan Corduner","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}