The Bomb, Theodore Taylor
  • List: $12.99  |  Sale: $9.10
    Club: $6.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Bomb

Author: Theodore Taylor

Narrator: George Guidall

Unabridged: 4 hr 19 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Recorded Books

Published: 11/25/2003

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Military & Wars

Synopsis

The winner of the Scott O'Dell Award, The Bomb is a powerful history lesson and a gripping tale of suspense that no listener will ever forget. In 1946, sixteen-year-old Sorry Rinamu watches as U.S. Navy warships appear off the coast of Bikini Island. The U.S. Government wants to test the deadly power of the atomic bomb-and Sorry's island has been chosen as the test site. The young man knows he must stop the Americans from dropping the bomb-even if it means defying orders from the U.S. Government and risking his own life.

Recommended

The Great War Stories Inspired by Items from the First World War, David Almond
The Great War
by David Almond

In a powerful collection, eleven internationally acclaimed fiction writers draw on personal objects to bring the First World War to life for listeners of all ages.A toy soldier. A butter dish. A compass. Mundane objects, perhaps, but to the remarkab...

Narrator: Nico Evers-Swindell
Published: 04/14/2015

The Cay, Theodore Taylor
The Cay
by Theodore Taylor

For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has al...

Narrator: Michael Boatman
Published: 02/08/2005

Zazoo, Richard Mosher
Zazoo
by Richard Mosher

Zazoo is Vietnamese by birth but feels entirely French. She has lived with her adoptive Grand-Pierre in France in an old stone mill between the river and the canal since she was two, sharing poetry, adventures, and the predictable rhythms of the sea...

Narrator: Joanna Wyatt
Published: 07/23/2002

The Trouble with Tuck The Inspiring Story of a Dog Who Triumphs Against All Odds, Theodore Taylor
The Trouble with Tuck
by Theodore Taylor

Friar Tuck, a big golden Labrador, is young Helen's inseparable companion. She still remembers the sunny day three years ago when her father dumped the fat, wriggling puppy into her surprised arms and said, "All yours, Helen." Since then, her dog ha...

Narrator: Christina Moore
Published: 11/03/2003

The Weirdo, Theodore Taylor
The Weirdo
by Theodore Taylor

They call him the Weirdo. No one knows much about the 17-year-old bear tracker with the horribly scarred face-except that he lives in the eerie swamp where Samantha Sanders found a dead body. But one night Samantha wanders into the dark swamp and me...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 10/20/2003

Front Lines, Michael Grant
Front Lines
by Michael Grant

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.Wor...

Narrator: Therese Plummer
Published: 01/26/2016

Missing in Action, Dean Hughes
Missing in Action
by Dean Hughes

Dirty. Lazy. Good-for-nothing. Jay Thacker is used to being called names because his dad is half Navajo. But things are different after he and his mother move to a small town in Utah to stay with his grandparents during WWII. Jay makes friends and e...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 10/14/2016

Four-Four-Two, Dean Hughes
Four-Four-Two
by Dean Hughes

From the author of Soldier Boys and Search and Destroy comes a thought-provoking, action-packed story based on the little-known history of the Japanese Americans who fought with the 442nd Regimental Combat Team during World War II. Yuki Nakahara is ...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 11/08/2016

Soldier's Heart Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers, Gary Paulsen
Soldier's Heart
by Gary Paulsen

Gary Paulsen introduces readers to Charley Goddard in his latest novel, Soldier's Heart.  Charley goes to war a boy, and returns a changed man, crippled by what he has seen.  In this captivating tale Paulsen vividly shows readers...

Narrator: George Wendt
Published: 07/05/2000
{"id":"1049329","ean":"9781490639451","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Bomb","subtitle":"","author":"Theodore Taylor","rating_average":"0","narrator":"George Guidall","ubr_id":"1049329","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"12.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"7.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Guidall","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}