The Art of the Wasted Day, Patricia Hampl
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Art of the Wasted Day

Author: Patricia Hampl

Narrator: Patricia Hampl

Unabridged: 9 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 04/17/2018

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Synopsis

A spirited inquiry into the lost value of leisure and daydream

The Art of the Wasted Day is a picaresque travelogue of leisure written from a lifelong enchantment with solitude. Patricia Hampl visits the homes of historic exemplars of ease who made repose a goal, even an art form. She begins with two celebrated eighteenth-century Irish ladies who ran off to live a life of "retirement" in rural Wales. Her search then leads to Moravia to consider the monk-geneticist, Gregor Mendel, and finally to Bordeaux for Michel Montaigne--the hero of this book--who retreated from court life to sit in his chateau tower and write about whatever passed through his mind, thus inventing the personal essay. 

Hampl's own life winds through these pilgrimages, from childhood days lazing under a neighbor's beechnut tree, to a fascination with monastic life, and then to love--and the loss of that love which forms this book's silver thread of inquiry. Finally, a remembered journey down the Mississippi near home in an old cabin cruiser with her husband turns out, after all her international quests, to be the great adventure of her life. 

The real job of being human, Hampl finds, is getting lost in thought, something only leisure can provide. The Art of the Wasted Day is a compelling celebration of the purpose and appeal of letting go.

Cover Illustration © 2018 Peter Sis

Recommended

When Breath Becomes Air, Paul Kalanithi
When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as a...

Narrator: Abraham Verghese
Published: 01/19/2016

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight
Shoe Dog
by Phil Knight

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s...

Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz
Published: 04/26/2016

Scrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick
Scrappy Little Nobody
by Anna Kendrick

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.“I’m excited to publish my first book, and because I get uncomfortable when people have high expectations...

Narrator: Anna Kendrick
Published: 11/15/2016

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States   In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of...

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
by Amy Schumer

“Amy’s got your back. She’s in your corner. She’s an honesty bomb. And she’s coming for you.” —Actress Tilda Swinton and Trainwreck co-star The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Insi...

Narrator: Amy Schumer
Published: 08/16/2016

Wild From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, Cheryl Strayed
Wild
by Cheryl Strayed

Oprah's Book Club 2.0 selection.A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again. At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought s...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 03/20/2012

We're Going to Need More Wine Stories That Are Funny, Complicated, and True, Gabrielle Union
We're Going to Need More Wine
by Gabrielle Union

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNominated for the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary WorkNamed a Best Book of the Year by The RootChosen by Emma Straub as a Best New Celebrity Memoir“A book of essays as raw and honest as anyone has ever prod...

Narrator: Gabrielle Union
Published: 10/17/2017

Eat, Pray, Love One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, Elizabeth Gilbert
Eat, Pray, Love
by Elizabeth Gilbert

A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers a...

Narrator: Elizabeth Gilbert
Published: 02/16/2006
{"id":"2111333","ean":"9780525529750","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Art of the Wasted Day","subtitle":"","author":"Patricia Hampl","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Patricia Hampl","ubr_id":"2111333","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Patricia Hampl","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}